Salmon with Spinach Pesto Stuffing

This filling has spinach and kale in it. So it’s super duper green! It was also super duper delicious.

Salmon with Spinach Pesto Stuffing | How I Ate My Box

This was pretty fancy looking (well, for me) but it really didn’t take that long. What is it about stuffing things with other things that just seems more fancy?

I don’t know, but I made the stuffing the day before and used the kale pesto that I had made previously. So a lot of the prep work was done and I got to use up the leftovers, which I love. I have never tried stuffing salmon, but it wasn’t too bad. I will likely revisit this method in the future and see what else I can shove in there.

Salmon with Spinach Pesto Stuffing | How I Ate My Box

For the stuffing:

1 cup packed spinach, chopped, steamed and drained very well. (I just steamed it in the microwave for a minute or two)

1/4 cup light cream cheese

1/4 cup kale pesto (Here’s the recipe I used, but any pesto will work)

For the Salmon:

2 tbs vegetable oil

2 4-oz filets of salmon, thick enough to stuff

Sea salt and fresh ground pepper

  1. Preheat that oven to 375.
  2. Mix all the stuffing ingredients together.
  3. Using a sharp knife, cut a slit in the side of the salmon, making sure not to cut all the way through.
  4. Stuff as much as the mixture inside the slit as you can.
  5. Heat olive oil in an oven-safe pan or skillet to medium high.
  6. Add the salmon, skin-side down, and cook for about 4 minutes.
  7. Transfer entire pan to oven, and cook for another 10 minutes, or until internal temperature reaches 160.
  8. I just served it with a simple little salad. Pea shoots!

Salmon with Spinach Pesto Stuffing | How I Ate My Box

Salmon is Ginger’s favorite. I wonder if we were nice enough to share dinner with her. Here she is, saying, “Please?”

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

*Check it out! This post has been entered into What’s In The Box recipe link party at In Her Chucks!

One response to “Salmon with Spinach Pesto Stuffing

Leave a comment