Fried Green Tomatoes.

Another oldie. This relic harkens back to the very beginning of tomato season.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I really didn’t know what else to do with the ones I got in my box and I had never made fried green tomatoes before. It was an exciting new adventure for me. What do other people do with green tomatoes?

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

It’s pretty straight forward, I just battered them with flour and egg and fried them in a cast iron skillet with veg oil. The most exciting thing about these, is that Matt liked them. Like really liked them. Even though he generally hates tomatoes. They are really like a different vegetable when they are green. More tart and way less squishy.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

So if you or someone you know hates the snotty texture of regular tomatoes… this might be their tomato.

3 responses to “Fried Green Tomatoes.

    • Thanks! Actually, I had seen the movie once before when I was much younger, but it was just on TV a week or so ago! It’s a good one!

  1. I love fried green tomatoes. But, I haven’t made any this year. I’ve made some salsa with them. And if I end up with anymore I’m gonna try some green tomato jam. Yum! Green tomatoes, totally rule.

Leave a Reply

