Zucchini/Squash Bread/Cake/Thing.

I actually made this a long time ago, as well. (Well, a few months ago) I bet you could guess. Since it’s not really zucchini season.

I made it before I was diagnosed with gestational diabetes. I know. Bummer, right? I can’t eat stuff like this now. (sad face)

At one point, though, I had a lot of zucchinis. But, truth be told, I actually made this bread with a yellow squash. But doesn’t “zucchini bread” sound so much more appetizing than “squash bread”?

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I sort of combined two recipes, because I love coffee cake. But really, just that awesome crunchy sugary top part. The rest of a coffee cake is just like a regular cake. I thought I could put that delicious topping on a zucchini/squash bread. You know. Take it to the next level.

Which just makes me think, “Well, is it a cake or a bread, then?”

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

It’s a thing. It’s whatever you want it to be. But it’s goooood.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Bread/Cake/Thing

1/4 cup butter, room temperature
1/4 cup applesauce or apple butter (I used the latter!)
1 cup light brown sugar
1 1/2 cups whole wheat flour
1 1/2 tsp ground cinnamon
1/2 tsp baking soda
1 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp salt
1 egg
1 1/2 cups shredded unpeeled zucchini (or summer squash)
1/2 cup walnut pieces

Crumb Topping:

1/2 cup butter
2/3 cup flour
2/3 cup sugar
1/4 cup brown sugar
1 tsp ground cinnamon

  1. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees
  2. Grease up a loaf pan, any way you prefer. I just use cooking spray.
  3. In the bowl of an electric mixer, cream the butter, applesauce, and sugar until smooth. Add egg to the creamed mixture and mix.
  4. In another, smaller bowl combine flour, spices, baking soda, baking powder, and salt.
  5. Add the flour mixture, about 1/2 cup at a time until incorporated, and the batter is smooth.
  6. Fold in the shredded zucchini and nuts.
  7. Pour batter into the greased pan.
  8. Now make crumb topping: Mix all of the dry ingredients into yet another bowl, and use a fork or (if you’re fancy) pastry cutter to cut the margarine into the mixture. It should resemble course meal when you’re done.
  9. Carefully spread crumb topping mixture over the top.
  10. Bake for 55 to 60 minutes until golden brown or when skewer inserted in the center comes out clean.
  11. Oh man. It’s so good. I like it with some softened cream cheese on top, but do whatever you want!
2 responses to “Zucchini/Squash Bread/Cake/Thing.

  1. Sorry to hear about GD. That sucks. Not sure how I didn’t have it since I gained like 80 pounds. This looks extra yummy. And, soon enough you’ll be able to this again! Yay! For babies.

    • It doooes suck! (And thank you for your sympathy) You must just have really great genes. 🙂 Actually, they told me it’s just genetic. So in theory, I guess I should have just eaten a lot more junk food, since there was nothing I could do to prevent it, anyway. 😉

Leave a Reply

