Husk Cherry Skillet-Pie.

What. The. Heck…

Is this?

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

That’s what I said when I received these in my CSA, anyway. Maybe you knew about this already, but I didn’t. It’s a husk cherry. Or a ground cherry. It looks like a tiny tomatillo. And tastes like… a banana? Or a pineapple? Well, not quite, but sort of. If bananas were squirty like tomatoes.

I mean, basically, its a cherry tomato that is sweet and has a foreskin.

(you have to take that part off, then they look like this.)

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

They’re pretty tasty and I could have just eaten the entire pint myself. But I felt inspired and decided to do something more creative.

I only had a pint, so there wasn’t enough for a whole pie. So I made a tiny little skillet-pie. PLUS, it’s dangerous to have large pies in the house when you aren’t supposed to eat pies.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

So this is a skillet-pie for Matt. He wasn’t sad about it.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Even though the pie was small, I still had to supplement with an apple. And honestly, I could have put another one in there.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I coated the skillet with butter to prevent stick-age. And I cut cute little stars in there.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

This is the recipe for the dough. It’s the recipe I always use for pie crust. And it’s never failed me. And I think that is saying a lot, because pie crusts can be hard. For the filling, I Just mixed the husk cherries, with one peeled, cored and chopped up apple. Added some cinnamon and sugar, and a few dabs of butter. Mmmm.

2 responses to “Husk Cherry Skillet-Pie.

    • Thank you! And I have definitely been in the same CSA overload situation every week lately. Too much veg, not enough ambition. 🙂

Leave a Reply

