Kale Pesto (Not Dinosaur)

What kind of kale is this? Is it dinosaur kale???? I don’t actually think it is. I think it’s curly kale. But this is a cute dinosaur, isn’t it? And it’s pretty awesome that there is a kind of kale called dinosaur kale, even if it’s not the kind of kale I used today.

Rar.

Kale Pesto (Not Dinosaur) | How I Ate My Box

So, as I mentioned here, I’ve been on a mission to include less animal products in my food. So, I thought I would try to make this pesto a vegan pesto. Instead of the parmesan that is usually in pesto, I added some tahini and a half of a roma tomato. It was a definite success! I  really couldn’t even tell the cheese was missing. In fact, I ate this two nights in a row, and can’t complain about that at all.

Kale Pesto (Not Dinosaur) | How I Ate My Box

1 packed cup kale

1/2 packed cup basil

2 big cloves of garlic

1/4 cup olive oil

1/4 cup walnuts (guessing! didn’t measure this!)

1/8 cup tahini

1/2 roma tomato

Mix it all together in a food processor! I served it on whole wheat penne (no eggs or dairy) and topped it with some crushed red pepper. Mmmm.

Kale Pesto (Not Dinosaur) | How I Ate My Box

*Check it out! This post has been entered into What’s In The Box recipe link party at In Her Chucks!

4 responses to “Kale Pesto (Not Dinosaur)

  1. Pingback: What’s in the Box? #64 | In Her Chucks·

  2. Pingback: Salmon with Spinach Pesto Stuffing | How I Ate My Box·

Leave a Reply

