Vanilla Bean Cupcakes with Tar Icing.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

At my husbo’s work, they have a little tradition. When someone has exciting news to share, they bring in something edible and delicious. Matt wanted to share the news of our impending parenthood, so he asked me to make cupcakes.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

[Funny how good news for his co-workers created a task for me.]

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Nah, just kidding. It wasn’t so bad. Anyway, I made these little cupcakes and also took some pictures of them. For many years, I had been in search of a homemade chocolate icing recipe that was chocolate-y enough for me. (I have high standards in the chocolate department) And thanks to my mother-in-law, I finally found one. Pretty sure she put this stuff on a cake she made for my husband’s birthday last year or the year before. Regardless, I was instantly obsessed.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Here’s the best part. It’s right on the back of the Hershey’s Cocoa box.

And here’s recipe I used for the bottom of the cupcake.

Here’s a question for you. Does anyone actually like the way sprinkles taste? Aside from making stuff look cute, I am convinced they have no actual value.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Look at it. It looks like tar. That’s how chocolate-y it is. I freaking love tar.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The only things from my CSA that made its way into these little cuties were the eggs.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Leave a Reply

