Beet and Sweet Potato Gnocchi

Like five years ago, I tried to make gnocchi from scratch. I think I had seen someone make it on the Food Network, or had it in a restaurant. Well, the recipe said that you really need to use a potato ricer, and that if you don’t have a ricer, it is acceptable to use the fine holes of a box grater to grate the potatoes.

OMG.

It was so much work. And the end product was not worth it.

Can you imagine my surprise when I found this recipe that instructs you to pulse the cooked potatoes in a food processor? Recipe, where were you five years ago?!?!?!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Anyway this was much easier. But I’m not going to tell you a lie, this is a little time consuming, probably a Saturday project, as opposed to a weeknight one.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I used a mixture of beets, sweet potatoes and regular potatoes. Because that’s what I had in my kitchen. But for realz, I think you could probably mix any sort of root veg with flour and make some sort of pillow-shaped pasta out of it. Resist the urge to sleep on though, even though it’s shaped like a pillow.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Beet and Sweet Potato Gnocchi

Adapted from this recipe.

2 pounds potatoes, peeled and cubed
1 pound sweet potatoes and beets, peeled and cubed
2 cups flour (I used whole wheat, but more recipes I found called for all-purpose)
1 egg
1 tsp course sea salt
Some kind of awesome pasta sauce, or just awesome sauce.

  1. Boil the root veg until soft, about 45 minutes. Puree in a food processor until smooth.
  2. Combine all ingredients in a large bowl using a fork.
  3. Once the dough is cohesive, knead gently on a floured surface until a smooth ball is formed, sprinkle the dough with flour to prevent sticking.
  4. Divide dough into 4 sections. Roll each section into a ½ in thick strips and then slice them into 1 inch pieces. (or “pillows” as they always seem to be called)
  5. Bring a large pot of water to boil and use a slotted spoon to gently place them into boiling water until they float, about 2-3 minutes.
  6. Sauce it up and serve.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I topped with a super simple sauce. I just sauteed some garlic, lemon juice and zest in some olive oil. Added some fresh chopped parsley, asiago cheese, and sea salt and fresh ground pepper. But I bet a nice alfredo sauce would be good, too. Mmm.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

  • The beets came from Tuscarora Organic Growers Co-op
  • The wheat flour and potatoes came from Clarion River Organics
  • The asiago cheese came from Gibsondale Cheese Company
  • The eggs came from Crighton Farm
4 responses to “Beet and Sweet Potato Gnocchi

  1. Oh, how I thought this was beef and sweet potato gnocchi! I even thought I misread it when I first realized it was beet, went back and reread the tittle, saw the picture and I was even more sure you meant beef. LOL! Not sure when I finally figured out you actually meant beet, but I eventually did. I love beets so I’m sure this amazing!

Leave a Reply

