Cream of Pea Shoot and Spinach Soup

I am a big fan of simplicity. If a recipe has a ton of ingredients and a long complicated process, I am usually turned off. Especially on a weeknight. This was light and tasty and super easy.

I know it’s spring and we’re off soup, but this is a nice, light springy soup. Also, I eat soup 12 months out of the year. I love it too much and it’s just too simple, tasty and nutritious for me to ever exclude from my diet. No matter how stinkin’ hot it is, I am the nut job who orders the soup.

Cream of Pea Shoot and Spinach Soup | How I Ate My Box

2 tbs olive oil
1 chopped onion
3 cloves of garlic
1 cup packed pea shoots
2 cups packed spinach
1-2 tbs flour
6 cups vegetable stock
1 cup fat free half and half (Feel free to use something with fewer gross chemicals in it – ha)
Some fun garnish – I used crispy pepitas and some chopped pea shoots, but you can be creative!

  1. In a large pot, saute the onions and garlic in the olive oil until soft.
  2. Add the pea shoots and spinach and cook until just wilted.
  3. Sprinkle in the flour and mix it in until all of the contents of the pan are no longer glossy.
  4. Add the vegetable stock and let simmer for about 15-20 minutes
  5. Puree the contents of the pot until smooth
  6. Slowly add the half and half.
  7. Garnish and serve!

Cream of Pea Shoot and Spinach Soup | How I Ate My Box

I will say that I personally think that any “cream-of” soup has the tendency to be… um, uneventful. In order to make it more interesting, I feel like the garnish is especially important here.

These crispy pepitas? I just sauteed them in olive oil and some season salt until they turn toasty and start to pop. They’re pretty good on salads too!

Cream of Pea Shoot and Spinach Soup | How I Ate My Box

The pea shoots are from Pucker Brush Farm.

The onion is from Blue Goose Farm.

One response to “Cream of Pea Shoot and Spinach Soup

Leave a Reply

