Coconut Poached Salmon with Braised Bok Choy and Leeks

I’ll tell you what I did. And then I will tell you what I would do if I did it again. That way you can learn from my errors. Fun, right?

Coconut Poached Salmon with Braised Bok Choy and Leeks | How I Ate My Box

This is super simple, and with a few tweaks, could be really really great, I think. So first of all, I put “coconut milk” on the grocery list. And hubs brought home something like this. When what I was thinking was something like this. I didn’t even realize there were two kinds. I used it anyway. I think the stuff in the can is totally different. Well, you aren’t supposed to drink it as a milk substitute for sure, so I guess that is a big difference. Go with the canned stuff, guys!

Secondly, it just needed something. Garlic? Maybe ginger? Fish sauce? Not sure. Not bad, but definitely a recipe to play around with.

Marinade:

1/4 cup light coconut milk

zest and juice from 2 limes

2 thai chilies.

2 salmon filets

  1. Combine coconut milk, lime zest and juice, and chilies.
  2. Bring to a simmer, cover and Poach salmon in mixture for 10 minutes. (It is super easy, which is a big plus!)

Coconut Poached Salmon with Braised Bok Choy and Leeks | How I Ate My Box

I served it along side some braised bok choy. This is the first time I have tried braising a vegetable, and it was pretty good.

Coconut Poached Salmon with Braised Bok Choy and Leeks | How I Ate My Box

Braised Bok Choy:

Juice and zest from 1 lemon

2 tbs olive oil

1/4 cup white wine.

3-4 small heads of bok choy, leaves separated

2-3 large leeks, washed, separated.

  1. Preheat oven to 375
  2. Combine all marinade ingredients.
  3. Put bok choy and leeks in an oven safe dish, cover with marinade.
  4. Braise for 15 minutes, or really just until it is wilty and tender-crisp.

Coconut Poached Salmon with Braised Bok Choy and Leeks | How I Ate My Box

I have this fun stuff. Black salt from Hawaii. How exotic. I sprinkled some of that on everything and called it a day.

Coconut Poached Salmon with Braised Bok Choy and Leeks | How I Ate My Box

My bok choy came from Crighton Farm, which I received via Penn’s Corner Farm Stand.

Leave a Reply

