Fried Goat Cheese Fritters

And beets too. This is kind of similar to a salad I made way back when. Except this time I took the goat cheese above and beyond. By frying it, of course. I was kind of inspired by a salad I had recently.

goat cheese beet salad1

This is the recipe that I used for guidance.

This experiment was a success and a disaster all at the same time. See, the problem with breading and frying goat cheese is that it’s super soft, so it has the tendency to fall apart. So, I thought to myself, I’m gonna freeze that cheese! I knew it was a risk. Some cheese does not take well to being frozen.

When I took it out of the freezer and unfurled it, I realized that it was covered with a super thin sheet of plastic. Which was of course completely frozen to the cheese itself. I was able to get most of it off.

Secondly, it was impossible to slice. Instead of cutting into sections, it was just… shattering. Shattered goat cheese. I popped it in the microwave for a few seconds and had more success (but still needed a huge serrated knife)

I guess all is well that ends well. And the end product turned out fine. But for someone who likes cooking as much as I do, I sure get frustrated and extremely stressed when things in the kitchen aren’t going as planned.

What I learned:

  • Don’t freeze the cheese. Just don’t.
  • oh wait. I bet you could freeze it. Just cut it into discs and shape them into fritters before you freeze them. That’s what I will try next time! Look. I learned something right while you were watching.

goat cheese beet salad2

You could probably do a lot of bangin’ things with these cheese pucks, but as a true salad junkie, I put them in a salad. What else is in that salad?

  • Roasted beets
  • blood oranges
  • Baby lettuce
  • Pepitas
  • Scallions
  • Parsley
  • Goat cheese fritters
  • Dressing was just a super simple vinaigrette made from the zest of one of the blood oranges, olive oil and red wine vinegar.

goat cheese beet salad3

  • Beets came from Tuscarora Organic Growers Co-op
  • Goat cheese came from River View Dairy
  • The baby lettuce came from Crighton Farm

And I got it all from Penn’s Corner Farm Stand!

5 responses to “Fried Goat Cheese Fritters

  1. I love nothing more than fried goat cheese (or fried anything for that matter). But will take your lessons to heart…no freezing goat cheese unless wrapper is removed and pre-sliced.

    Thanks for sharing and linking up!

Leave a Reply

