A Springy New Box and Ramen with Bok Choy

Two great things to report today. It is finally starting to feel like spring here in Pittsburgh, and goodness is it wonderful. And I recently picked up an order from Penn’s Corner! And this is what was in it:

  • Pac Choi  from Crighton Farm
  • Baby lettuce mix from Crighton Farm
  • Chevre Cheese from River View Dairy
  • Galen’s Good Old from Clover Creek Cheese Cellar
  • Honduran Harvest from Clover Creek Cheese Cellar
  • Wheat flour from Clarion River Organics
  • Beets from Tuscarora Organic Growers Co-op

CSAbox1

I know what you’re thinking: “That’s a lot of cheese.” But don’t you worry I have plans for this cheese. I think the two hard cheeses will find their way into a mac and cheese dish, which I have been longing for. And the goat cheese? I know this may sound unconventional, but I think I’m going to make that into a cheesecake. Craziness. I know.

Other than that, you can see how I used some of the pak choi below. The lettuce will most likely find its way into salad, glorious salad. Not so sure what will become of the flour, but I bet it’s safe to bet that it will be a bread product. And the beets? Maybe a beet gnocchi? I don’t know though, that might be a little ambitious!

ramenbokchoy1

You may have already known that bok choy is the same thing as pak choi. I sure didn’t. When I got these leaves in my order from Penn’s Corner, I had a really hard time finding recipes for pak choi! Until I realized that it was the same thing as bok choy.

ramenbokchoy2

This recipe is pretty simple. It’s just those wretched ramen noodles minus their powder, and with some better stuff added in.

ramenbokchoy3

Specifically:

1 package of ramen, flavor packet discarded
1 tbs oil (sesame, veg, chili oil or anything similar will work fine)
2 tbs minced fresh garlic
1/4 cup peanut butter
1 tbs sweet soy (sometimes called kekap manis)
1 tbs sriracha
1 tbs reg soy sauce
1 tbs fish sauce
juice and zest from 1 lime.
1/4 cup thinly sliced green onions
2 cups chopped baby bok choy (but if you have more, I say use it. It wilted down quite a bit, and I would have liked some more green in this soup, personally)

  1. So boil those noodles according to package directions, and discard the cooking liquid.
  2. Meanwhile, in a wok saute the garlic in a little oil. I used thai chili oil for some KICK!
  3. Combine PB, both soy sauces, sriracha, fish sauce, and lime juice and zest and add to wok until combined and PB is melted and well combined with the other ingredients.
  4. Add cooked noodles and toss to coat.
  5. Bok choy and onions and stir until bok choy is wilty.
  6. Serve it up! You just got served!

ramenbokchoy4

What I learned from creating this dish:

  • Bok choy is the same thing as pak choi is the same thing as bok choi is the same thing as pak choy is also the same thing as chinese cabbage. And they are all derived from the Cantonese name for “white vegetable.”
  • I love hot stuff. Okay, I already knew that.

ramenbokchoy5

4 responses to “A Springy New Box and Ramen with Bok Choy

    • Ha ha yes! I do get Penn’s Corner! And you’ve called my bluff! (Sort of) My blog posts are about two weeks behind reality. :p I got this stuff a few weeks ago from their Farm Stand (where you order what you want online and then go pick it up) What I got this week in real life was eggs, two lettuces, some puffed spelt, onions and rosemary. And I’ll get around to blogging about it in a year or so. 🙂

  1. When I first got my csa I was confused by the pak choi/bok choy names as well, I kept looking for pak choi recipes and coming up with nothing. This dish looks simple and great!

Leave a Reply

