Dad’s Lasagna.

Dad's Lasagna | How I Ate My Box

As I mentioned yesterday, lasagna always reminds me of my dad. Since his 55th birthday would have been this week, I thought I would remember him by making the food I most often associate with him.

Dad's Lasagna | How I Ate My Box

Sadly, I don’t think my dad ever used an actual recipe, and although I have seen him make it hundreds of time, I have nothing written down. So I kind of winged it. Wait. Wung it? Wang it? What is the past tense of “wing”???

Dad's Lasagna | How I Ate My Box

Now, we’re totally not Italian. So I’m not sure how authentic this is. It’s pretty much standard old lasagna. Nothing crazy going on here.

Dad's Lasagna | How I Ate My Box

Dad’s Lasagna

The Noodles:
12 lasagna noodles

The Sauce:
2 tbs olive oil
1 onion, diced
5 tbs fresh minced garlic
48 oz chopped tomatoes
1 can of tomato paste
3 tbs of oregano
1 tbs fresh rosemary*
2 tsp dried thyme

The Cheese:
16 oz mozzarella, shredded (I had super tiny mozz balls, so I just cut them in half)
16 oz part skim ricotta
1 egg
Grated parmesan**

  1. Preheat your oven to 350.
  2. Boil the lasagna noodles according to package directions. Drain and rinse with cold water to keep them from sticking together.
  3. Meanwhile, in a medium sauce pan saute the onion and garlic in olive oil until soft.
  4. Then you can pretty much throw all the other sauce ingredients in and let simmer for 30 ish minutes.
  5. While that is simmering, thoroughly combine the ricotta, egg, salt and pepper and parmesan in a bowl.
  6. When the sauce is done, slosh a small amount of the sauce in the bottom of a casserole dish.
  7. Add a layer of noodles
  8. Add a layer of the ricotta mixture
  9. Add a thin layer of mozz.
  10. Repeat steps 6-9 until you’ve used up your ingredients. It’s important to end with mozzarella if you want that bubbly brown cheesy goodness on the top. Which, you totally do.
  11. Sprinkle the top with the remainder of the parmesan
  12. Bake for 40 minutes or until the top is all heavenly.

*Dad probably didn’t use rosemary. I just had some from Penn’s Corner. In it goes!

** I used asiago… again because I had some from Penn’s Corner.

Dad's Lasagna | How I Ate My Box

3 responses to “Dad’s Lasagna.

Leave a Reply

