Sweet Potato Mushroom Stuffing and Baked Salmon.

Let it be known: I have a weakness for stuffing. All stuffing. I rarely meet a stuffing I don’t like. Lately, I have been experimenting with putting different things in stuffing. Mixing it up a bit. This began a few years ago when I had an amazing stuffing with cranberries in it. Although this is far from a huge leap for a Thanksgiving dinner that already is rife with cranberries, it blew my mind.

This one has sweet potatoes, mushrooms and rosemary in it. So it has that sweet/salty combo that I am obsessed with. And it’s totally not even Thanksgiving.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

We (husband and I) don’t celebrate Easter, per se. But I’m all about celebrating food. And love. And family! So, since my sister is in town, a big ol’ dinner was in order. Any excuse to make food for other people is a good one on my book.

As much as I love stuffing, it’s not really a main dish, is it? I mean, I could definitely just eat stuffing for dinner. But we had baked salmon and kale with it. I know you are supposed to eat ham on Easter Sunday or something… but ehh, I’m marching to my own drummer.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Sweet Potato Mushroom Stuffing

1/4 cup olive oil

1 large sweet potato, diced

1 onion, diced

2 cups crimini mushrooms, diced

2 tbs fresh rosemary, chopped

Salt and fresh ground pepper

4 cups of bread, cut into 1 inch cubes. (I used a multigrain sourdough)

2 eggs, beaten

3 tbs fresh parsley

1-2 cups of vegetable broth (You probably won’t use it all)

Preheat oven to 375.

  1. Cook the sweet potato, onion, mushrooms and rosemary in the olive oil on medium low until it’s all super duper soft. Like 15 minutes. You want the sweet potato to be very easily mooshed. Add a few teaspoons of salt and pepper.
  2. In a large bowl, mix the bread, sweet potato mixture, eggs, and parsley until well combined.
  3. Add the veg broth a 1/4 cup at a time until the mixture is moist, but not soggy.
  4. Pour it all into a greased baking dish and bake for about 40 minutes, until the top is crunchy.

Salmon (Adapted from Everyday Food)

2 lb salmon, cut into 8 oz fillets

1/4 cup brown sugar

1/4 cup red wine vinegar

1/4 cup whole grain mustard

Preheat oven to 375.

  1. Mix the brown sugar, vinegar, and mustard together in a small saucepan and boil over medium heat until reduced by about half.
  2. Place the salmon on a baking dish covered with parchment paper.
  3. Brush the brown sugar mixture over the salmon
  4. Bake for about 20 minutes, until salmon is opaque throughout.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I love kale.

  • The mushrooms came from Wild Purveyors
  • The eggs came from Butterbaugh Eggs
  • The rosemary came from Pucker Brush Farm
  • I got all of this fine stuff from Penn’s Corner Farm Stand!

*Check it out! This post has been entered into What’s In The Box recipe link party at In Her Chucks!

2 responses to “Sweet Potato Mushroom Stuffing and Baked Salmon.

  1. Pingback: Flourless Chocolate Beet Cake | How I Ate My Box·

Leave a Reply

