Chickpea Leek Soup

Are you aware that shallots and leeks are both members of the genus allium? Did you care? Ha ha, well these purple and spring green alliums remind me of an Easter basket. Which reminds me of spring. Which is so totally appropriate, since technically, today is the first day of spring. But lets be honest. It sure doesn’t feel like it. Not here in Pittsburgh. So a post about hot steamy soup is fitting.

Chickpea Leek Soup | How I Ate My Box

Sometimes soup is just so good. This was one of those times. I so wish I had doubled this recipe. I could have eaten the leftovers for lunch for weeks.

Chickpea Leek Soup | How I Ate My Box

You know, soup is usually one of the more simple types of dinner to prepare, but I feel like the more you put into it, the more you get out of it. It seems that when I am rushed and try to throw together a soup hurriedly, it never comes out as nice as when I leisurely and slowly let the veggies take their time and simmer and soften and caramelize. Just imagine some slow jamz playing while you read about this soup. While you love up on some leeks… Tonight I was feeling extra leisurely. Mostly because I was hanging out with one of these hotties:

Chickpea Leek Soup | How I Ate My Box

Hey there, Godfather. Three parts bourbon; one part amaretto. All parts awesome. You are rocking my world, tonight. Ow ow!

So anyway, before I get too drunk and forget, here is the recipe. I was inspired by this recipe, but changed it up a lot. Mostly because of what I had on hand. And don’t forget to let those veggies take their time! SLOW JAMZ style.

2 tbs olive oil. (I used this stuff, since I had it)

1 medium leek, rinsed, sliced thin.

1 medium shallot, sliced thin

2 tbs fresh garlic, minced

Juice and zest of one lemon, separated.

2 cans of chick peas

4 cups of veggie stock

1 tsp smoked paprika

Sea salt and fresh ground pepper

Chopped fresh parsley and olive oil to garnish.

  1. In a large pot, saute the shallots and leeks in olive oil until soft.
  2. Add garlic and saute a few more minutes.
  3. Add lemon juice and de-glaze the pan with it. You know, like scrape up all the bits.
  4. Add the chickpeas, stock, lemon zest and paprika. Bring to a boil and let simmer for 10-20 minutes.
  5. You can either mash up some of the chickpeas with a potato masher (what I did) Or puree a part of the soup. Or nothing. You can also do nothing at all. Depends on your love of chunk.
  6. Add salt and pepper to taste.
  7. Serve and garnish with parsley!

Chickpea Leek Soup | How I Ate My Box

Where’d the stuff come from?

One response to “Chickpea Leek Soup

Leave a Reply

