Chicken, Carrot and Leek Stew.

Does this really qualify as a stew? It wasn’t all that stewwy. You may or may not remember me talking about these carrots. They are actually starting to sprout in my fridge! I guess it’s time to cook them, the little rascals!

Chicken, Carrot and Leek Stew | How I Ate My Box

And some of them are seriously huge. Look at me trying to high-five this carrot to congratulate it on its hugeness.

Chicken, Carrot and Leek Stew | How I Ate My Box

I know some people don’t love chicken thighs. If you are one of those people, you can definitely use drumsticks, or even chicken breast in this recipe. Whatever you want. I personally, have a soft spot in my heart for chicken thighs because my grandmother used to make this absolutely amazing recipe with them. To this day I am saddened deeply that I never asked her to teach me how to make them. I just remember it involved a large skillet on the stove top and like hours and hours. Or maybe it just seemed like hours and hours because it was torture waiting for dinner. Not sure. They were always perfectly tender and juicy with crispy skin. And there was gravy and mashed potatoes and mmmmmmmm.

What I learned from making this recipe:

  • You can definitely skip the whole breading and browning step if you are in a hurry. But if you have the time, do it. I know it seems like an unnecessary step. And the best part of a slow cooker dish is it’s low maintenance so using an extra pan and browning the chicken before you throw it in there just seems like extra work, but it just makes a huge difference in depth of flavor. Grandma says so. Psyche. I don’t think she ever used a slow cooker. At least that I can remember. I guess this ain’t your grandma’s chicken stew…
  • Who says stuff like that, anyway?

Chicken, Carrot and Leek Stew | How I Ate My Box

Chicken, Carrot and Leek Stew

Adapted from this Bon Appetit recipe.

2 cups thinly sliced carrots
1 1/2 cups thinly sliced leeks
1 1/2 pounds chicken thighs (like four chicken thighs)
Sea salt
2 tablespoons all purpose flour
1/2 teaspoon dried thyme
1 teaspoon smoked paprika
2 tablespoons vegetable oil
1/4 cup lemon juice (or white wine; that would be fancy.)
1 tablespoon Dijon mustard
1/4 cup chopped fresh flat leaf parsley

  1. Sprinkle chicken with sea salt and freshly ground black pepper.
  2. Whisk flour, thyme, and paprika in medium bowl. Toss chicken in flour mixture.
  3. Heat oil in heavy large nonstick skillet over medium- high heat.
  4. Add chicken to skillet and cook until browned, about 2 minutes per side. Remove chicken
  5. Add lemon juice; stir to deglaze pan, you know, like with a whisk or something, and boil until reduced a bit, 2 to 3 minutes.
  6. Add chicken to a large slow cooker, scatter carrots and leeks over chicken. Add pan drippings and cook for 6 hours on low.
  7. Add your mustard and stir until well incorporated.
  8. Garnish with parsley

I served it with some quinoa because it just cooks so darn fast!

Chicken, Carrot and Leek Stew | How I Ate My Box

*Check it out! This post has been entered into What’s In The Box recipe link party at In Her Chucks!

6 responses to “Chicken, Carrot and Leek Stew.

  1. This looks so good I am LITERALLY drooling!! I WILL be making this the first chance I get. Talk about comfort food at it’s finest.

    Thanks for sharing and linking up!

      • Finally made it and it was beyond rockin! So delicious!!! My husband cleaned his plate and went back for seconds. My daughter kept asking for “more chicken please”. I also served with a side of quinoa (perfect pairing) and some roasted asparagus. Yum!

        Thanks for sharing 🙂

  2. Pingback: What’s in the Box? #66 | In Her Chucks·

  3. Pingback: What’s in the Box? #67 | In Her Chucks·

Leave a Reply

