Leeky Pad Thai

Every time I make pad thai at home, I think to myself, “More basil!” [Said in a Christopher Walken on SNL voice]

I just can’t get enough of it. I don’t know what it is about that spicy sweet basil-y garlic-y combo, but it’s just intoxicating to me.

I know this isn’t really authentic Thailand way of making pad thai. First of all it has leeks in it. I also used papardelle noodles instead of rice noodles. Yeah, yeah. It’s all I had. And I really wanted to make this. And you know what? It was pretty darn good.

What I learned from this:

  • MOOOOOORE BASIL!

Leeky Pad Thai | How I Ate My Box

So pad thai is pretty quick to throw together, but it does require a lot of prep. And a lot of ingredients that you may not have lying around the house if you don’t regularly cook Asian cuisine. I try to do some of the prep ahead of time, but I don’t have any recommendations about the weird ingredients. Just go get em. You know, if you want to.

I’ve also made a pretty yummy vegan version of this before. Just use tofu for the protein, omit the eggs, and you can use soy sauce in place of the fish and oyster sauces. Oh and obvi make sure your noodles are vegan.

1/4 cup lime juice

2 tbs soy sauce

3 tbs dark (sweet) soy sauce

1 tbs fish sauce

1 tbs peanut butter

1 tbs tamarind paste

1 tbs sriracha

1 lb flat rice noodles (or whatever kind of flat noodles!)

2 tbs canola or veg oil

2 leeks, rinsed and sliced thin

3 tbs minced garlic

bay scallops or shrimp or tofu. Or whatever.

2 eggs, beaten

1/2 cup chopped fresh basil

1/2 cup pea shoots

1/4 cup chopped peanuts

  1. Make the sauce: Whisk the first 7 ingredients together in a bowl, set aside.
  2. Cook the noodles according to the directions on the package.
  3. In a large wok, saute the leeks and garlic in vegetable oil until soft.
  4. add the scallops or shrimp and cook until no longer pink.
  5. Push all that stuff to the outside edges of the wok so you can scramble the eggs in the middle.
  6. When the noodles are done, add them to the wok as well.
  7. Pour sauce over noodles, add basil and pea shoots and mix well to combine.
  8. Serve, garnish with peanuts.
  9. I’m a bit of a heat-freak, so I always end up adding even more sriracha. Do what makes you happy.

Leeky Pad Thai | How I Ate My Box

We had a pleasant surprise guest for dinner tonight: Peanut Butter Homebrew Beer. Why, hallo there. This brew came from a co-worker of my husband’s. They both brew beer and they like to exchange their beers. Isn’t that cute? Matt traded him one of the jalapeno beers for this peanut butter beer. Personally, I enjoy how this arrangement benefits me.

Leeky Pad Thai | How I Ate My Box

*Check it out! This post has been entered into What’s In The Box recipe link party at In Her Chucks!

7 responses to “Leeky Pad Thai

  1. well the only things I am currently missing for this is the peanuts and the fish sauce (but I’m vegetarian). Looks like this is going onto the meal plan for the week. Thanks

    • Awesome! Let me know how it comes out. I have subbed soy for the fish sauce plenty of times. Just as good!

      • I keep seeing recipes on Pinterest for vegan fish sauce that I need to try one of these days but I will probably make this with just additional soy as well.

  2. I LOVE leeks. It wasn’t until I started getting my CSA that I ever even tried them. And now they are one of my favorite aromatics to use in cooking. This pad thai looks like it will knock my socks off.

    Thanks for sharing and linking up!

  3. Pingback: What I Ate Wednesday | Salted Plates·

Leave a Reply

