Garlic, Rosemary and Peppercorn Infused Oil.

I thought this would be fun. I have been reading about how easy it is to make infused oil at home, and thought I would give it a try. It is indeed, remarkably easy.

This stuff is great for bread-dipping, salad-dressing, pasta-coating, bath-taking… Just kidding about the last one. Kidding, but not judging. You know, if rosemary garlic olive oil baths are your thing.

Garlic, Rosemary and Peppercorn Infused Oil | How I Ate My Box

You may be sensing a rosemary theme. With this post, and this post and this post. Well, you are sensing correctly. I have a lot of rosemary right now.

One interesting thing about this infused oil, you can definitely taste the rosemary and the peppercorn, but not so much the garlic. I found this intriguing because garlic can be such an intense flavor.

Garlic, Rosemary and Peppercorn Infused Oil | How I Ate My Box

Extreme close-up of peppercorns and rosemary for your viewing pleasure. Wrinkly, eh?

Garlic, Rosemary and Peppercorn Infused Oil | How I Ate My Box

Here is the recipe that I followed, more or less. I mean, I kind of combined several of them. But I don’t think it really matters how you do it. While I was poking around, looking for a recipe, I found about 1o different variations on how to do it. Some people roasted everything in the oil in the oven. Some people simmered everything together on the stove-top. Some people just put the herbs in a bottle of olive oil and let it set. So, really I think you can just go wild!

And If you are interested, I got those cutsie little pour-spout bottle toppers here. They fit on just about any bottle, apparently. And you can use them for oils or vinegar or bar stuff.

The black chalk labels came from this Etsy shop. I love them. If you love organizing stuff, like I do, you can kick your organization nerd-fest up a notch by putting labels on EVERYTHING! Seriously, everything.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA [hey. what is that?]

Oh, and also, I have received a few emails asking about the macro lens for your smart phone, which I mentioned here. Which is funny,  because I have never received any emails about anything else on my blog, ha ha. Anyway, I’m happy to share. The lens is totally awesome! It’s 15$ and it’s just a little lens on a rubber band that you can keep in your wallet. I got it here, from Photojojo.

One response to “Garlic, Rosemary and Peppercorn Infused Oil.

  1. Pingback: Chickpea Leek Soup | How I Ate My Box·

Leave a Reply

