Pea Shoot, Shaved Parsnip and Purple Carrot Salad.

How cute are these pea shoots? With their little curly tendrils.

peashoots

I have been getting a lot of pea shoots from Penn’s Corner Farm Alliance’s  Farm Stand lately because they are one of the only thing besides potatoes and turnips that is available right now in chilling, blustery PA.  (Are the shoots grown indoors? I feel like they must be? Not sure.) This time of year, I,  along with everyone else in the friggin northern hemisphere am so over winter. These little shoots remind me that spring will come. I just need to hang in there. Hopeful little shoots of pea.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

This salad was a splendiloquent combo of purple carrots and parsnips from my CSA that I shaved thin with a vegetable peeler. Also mixed in there are some salad greens, artichoke hearts, kalamata olives and, of course, the  pea shoots.

I used vegan Tahini Cream dressing from Somer’s Green Smoothie Challenge. And it was a-maz-ing. I made a big container of it and wanted to put it on everything I ate for the next two days. I’m sure this behavior would have continued longer than two days, but sadly, the dressing was gone after that.

Leave a Reply

