Garlic Rosemary Aioli.

Mayo gets a bad rap, I think. Sure, the stuff that comes in a jar is gross. But if you make it yourself, its pretty awesome. It’s much lighter and fresh-tasting.

Garlic Rosemary Aioli | How I Ate My Box

(Shh – I like the stuff in the jar, too. Even though it’s gross)

It’s just an emulsion of olive oil, an egg and lemon juice or vinegar. It’s also super easy to make.  Well, with a food processor. It’s kind of a pain to do it by hand. That’s a lot of whisking. Anyway, since I have all these farm fresh eggs, I figured, why not!

Just don’t eat a lot of it. I bet you won’t feel good afterwards.

Garlic Rosemary Aioli | How I Ate My Box

So this is technically, an aioli. Which, I think, is just mayo with other shit in it. Rosemary and garlic in this instance. I used it on these sandwiches, which I mentioned a little while ago. It was secretly inspired by whatever wunderkind of a sauce they use on the panini sandwiches at Cannon Coffee. If you live in or near Pittsburgh, a trip to Cannon Coffee for their coffee or their panini is well worth the trip.

As a disclaimer, I feel compelled to tell you that there is a raw egg in this mixture. I read that, for that reason, it’s best to use pasteurized eggs. The eggs I used are indeed pasteurized. I also  read somewhere, in my extensive mayo-research, that there are so many preservatives in regular store-bought mayo, that you can add a teaspoonful to your home-made mayo and it will keep it from going bad right away. I did that. Even though I don’t really know if it’s true. Because, let’s be honest folks, who is going to eat a whole cup of mayo in four days? Not this girl, that’s for sure.

Garlic Rosemary Aioli | How I Ate My Box

Anyway. That’s my mayo story. Here is the recipe I followed. Plus the rosemary.

One response to “Garlic Rosemary Aioli.

  1. Pingback: Garlic, Rosemary and Peppercorn Infused Oil. | How I Ate My Box·

Leave a Reply

