Celeriac Fries On A Pittsburgh Salad

Maybe you’ve been to Pittsburgh. Maybe you haven’t. If you’ve never eaten in Pittsburgh, you are totally missing out.

Or are you?

Celeriac Fries On A Pittsburgh Salad | How I Ate My Box

I’m not a native Pittsburgher. As I type this, I have lived here almost exactly three years. I definitely love the city, but I must admit, some of the stuff kids eat here took a minute to get used to. One thing Pittsburgh is famous for is putting french fries in weird places. On sandwiches and salads… stuff like that.

Celeriac Fries On A Pittsburgh Salad | How I Ate My Box

This is my CSA-version of a Pittsburgh salad. Because the fries are actually baked, which would never happen in a proper Pittsburgh salad/sandwich shop. And they are actually celeriac fries, not potato fries. Which would never happen… um… anywhere.

Celeriac Fries On A Pittsburgh Salad | How I Ate My Box

I just sliced the ugly root very thin, tossed the slivers in olive oil, salt, pepper and rosemary and put them in a 400 degree oven for 30 minutes, flipping them halfway through, n’at. (N’nat = and so forth)

Celeriac Fries On A Pittsburgh Salad | How I Ate My Box

There yinz go. Served up with some heart-healthy omega 3s! (yinz = ya’ll = you guys)

2 responses to “Celeriac Fries On A Pittsburgh Salad

  1. Pingback: Rosemary Sandwich Bread. | How I Ate My Box·

Leave a Reply

