Sweet Potato and Refried Black Beans with Fried Eggs.

I’m not sure what this is.

Sweet Potato and Refried Black Beans with Fried Eggs | How I Ate My Box

One part huevos rancheros. One part open-faced breakfast sandwich. One part CSA box mystery meal. I wanted this meal to take place on a corn tortilla. But unexpectedly, we were out of them. So sourdough bread it was! Regardless, it was amazing. But there is something about the combo of black beans and sweet potatoes that sings to my soul. I could eat it every day. Add a sunny-side up egg to that, and I am a happy girl.

Sweet Potato and Refried Black Beans with Fried Eggs | How I Ate My Box

I basically peeled and diced the sweet potatoes. Sauteed them with some thinly sliced shallots, 2 tsp of adobo, 1 tsp of smoked paprika until they were tender. Spread some refried beans on the toast. Topped with the sweet potatoes, a sunny-side up egg, some grated romano and chopped parsley.

Sweet Potato and Refried Black Beans with Fried Eggs | How I Ate My Box

I bet if I had added some diced poblanos to the sweet potato mixture and used a different, meltier cheese this would have been extra awesome. I think I may revisit this recipe down the road. Sweet potato-y perfection awaits.

4 responses to “Sweet Potato and Refried Black Beans with Fried Eggs.

    • Oh, I bet you are right, I bet it would work well for brunch! As long as everyone loved sweet potatoes and black beans as much as I do!

Leave a Reply

