Pork Chops with Bacon Celeriac Apple Stuffing

I actually don’t really like pork chops.  But other, very handsome people in my house do. I had some tenderloin in the freezer, left over from when I made this, so I just cut it into some chops. And I’m not sure why, but it might be the best pork chop I’ve ever had. Not to tootle my horn, or whatever they say. And look how ugly that celeriac is.

Pork Chops with Bacon Celeriac Apple Stuffing | How I Ate My Box

I do love stuffing! YEAH! Stuffing! My original plan was to put the stuffing inside the chops, but I cut them too thin. So I just put them around the chops. Oh well.

Pork Chops with Bacon Celeriac Apple Stuffing | How I Ate My Box

Stuffing:

4 strips of bacon

1/2 cup celeriac, peeled and finely diced

1/2 cup green apple, peeled and finely diced

1/2 cup shallots, finely sliced

1 cup of coarse sour dough bread crumbs

1/2 cup vegetable stock, or any stock, probably.

2 tbs chopped fresh parsley

2 boneless pork chops

Salt and Pepper

  1. Preheat oven to 400.
  2. Cook the bacon in a skillet until it’s crispy and the fat has rendered. Remove it.
  3. Saute the celeriac, apple, and onion in the bacon fat. Remove from the pan also.
  4. In a large bowl add the bacon, sauteed veg, bread crumbs, stock and parsley. Stir to combine. Set aside.
  5. Over med-high heat, sear the pork chops in the skillet on both sides.
  6. Add the stuffing to the skillet, around the pork chops. Add 1/4 cup of water to the skillet as well.
  7. Place the skillet in the oven and cook until the pork chops have reached an internal temp of 160. (Start checking after 10 minutes)
  8. My pork chops were done but I thought the stuffing could use some more time, so I removed the pork chops, tented with foil and stuck the stuffing back in the oven for another 10 minutes.

Pork Chops with Bacon Celeriac Apple Stuffing | How I Ate My Box

Oh and I also made this apple and celeriac salad with it. My original plan was to use raw celeriac, but when I tasted the celeriac raw, I didn’t like it. I had a lot of original plans for this recipe that didn’t quite work out. Improvisation time!

Pork Chops with Bacon Celeriac Apple Stuffing | How I Ate My Box

I just tossed the thin slices with olive oil, salt and pepper and threw them into a 400 degree oven for 15 or 20 minutes. They were then like celeriac “chips”, and were pretty good!

Pork Chops with Bacon Celeriac Apple Stuffing | How I Ate My Box

*This post has been entered into Wednesday Fresh Foods at Gastronomical Sovereignty!

2 responses to “Pork Chops with Bacon Celeriac Apple Stuffing

  1. this looks divine! I love your creativity. my husband is a lover of pork chops too. actually before we started dating I had never had any. i don’t detest them but wouldn’t make them unless he requests them.

    I will most definitely be making this though!

    thanks for sharing and linking up 🙂

    • I feel the same way! I feel like they are always kind of dry. They turned out pretty nice this way, though. Definitely going to be my go-to pork chop method from now on! Thanks for commenting!

Leave a Reply

