Ancho Black Bean Soup (in a slow cooker).

Oh, slow cooker. You may be my favorite invention ever. How wonderful is it to come home after work to a house full of wonderful warm smells and a dinner that has made itself. Especially when you have a fabulous craft beer drinking engagement with several of your favorite lady friend craft beer drinkers, as I did on the night that I made this. Ain’t nobody got time for cooking on a night like that.

As I mentioned before, I received several dried ancho chilies in my CSA share this week. I decided to make these feisty guys into a black bean soup.

Ancho Black Bean Soup (in a slow cooker) | How I Ate My Box

Ancho Black Bean Soup (in a slow cooker) | How I Ate My Box

This is a recipe that I make fairly often, tweaked to include the ancho chillies. It honestly tasted a lot different than it usually does. The chillies added a wonderful smokiness. It’s an easy recipe, but does involve a little bit of prep ahead of time. If I am feeling like a super rockstar meal planner, I do that stuff the night before. If not, I hit the snooze button repeatedly, cursing that I have to get out of bed earlier than usual to prep tonight’s dinner.  Usually the latter.

But it’s allll worth it when I get home!

The soup!

3 dried ancho chilies (whole)

1 onion, chopped

1 bell pepper, chopped

3 cloves of garlic, minced

3 cans black beans

1 can of diced tomatoes

1 tbs ground cumin

1 tbs ground coriander

1 tbs dried oregano

2 tbs red wine vinegar

4 cups vegetable stock

4 tbs chopped fresh parsley

Toppings of choice. I like rice, avocado, sour cream, cheddar cheese, hot sauce. Whatever you are in the mood for.

  1. Put everything in the slow cooker, cook on low for 6 hours.
  2. Remove the chilies, they’ll be nice and soggy.
  3. Remove the stem and seeds from the chilies and discard.
  4. Place the chilies in a separate container or in a blender.
  5. Add to the container of chilies about 2 cups of the black bean soup. Puree the chili and soup mixture and return the mixture to the slow cooker. Stir to evenly incorporate.
  6. Now add your favorite toppings and enjoy!

Ancho Black Bean Soup (in a slow cooker) | How I Ate My Box

Ancho Black Bean Soup (in a slow cooker) | How I Ate My Box

Leave a Reply

