Root Ribbons with Sage

So you know how it’s winter, right?

Well, I saw this recipe, and I thought it looked sexy. And then I looked at my garden, and despite the two inches of snow surrounding it, my sage looked… well, kind of the same as it did in the summer time. So I thought, “Hm. Can I still use it? Isn’t it, like, totally hibernating, or something?”

Root Ribbons with Sage | How I Ate My Box

I used it. I hope I didn’t wake it up or piss it off. It still smelled sagey. And tasted good.

Anyway, I followed the recipe pretty much to the letter, so I’m not going to repost it. Only difference is that I used olive oil instead of butter, just so it’s a bit healthier. And vegan. I figure if animal products don’t add anything, then why include them.

I used a big ol’ rutabaga, two carrots and a green meat radish from my CSA box for this dinner.

Root Ribbons with Sage | How I Ate My Box

This is how they looked when I methodically shaved them into ribbons with a vegetable peeler.

Root Ribbons with Sage | How I Ate My Box

And this is what it looked like on my plate. It was pretty darn good, but it sure doesn’t look as pretty as the picture from the recipe I used.  I had it with some beet and kale orzo, which I will post about tomorrow! (Or whenever I get around to it!)
Root Ribbons with Sage | How I Ate My Box

One response to “Root Ribbons with Sage

Leave a Reply

