Vegetarian Shepherd’s Pie

Baaaaaah. There are no sheep to be herded. Today, we are herding… LENTILS!

Vegetarian Shepherd's Pie | How I Ate My Box.

I got to use these little oven safe ramekins. (Or “rumpelstiltskins”, as my husband calls them) I’ve had them for years, and use them all the time as small bowls, but have never before had a reason to put them in the oven.

Vegetarian Shepherd's Pie | How I Ate My Box.

This vegetarian lentil pie is topped with rutabaga!! And I must say, the topping was pretty yummy!

Vegetarian Shepherd's Pie | How I Ate My Box.

This is the recipe that I used for inspiration. Honestly, you could probably throw any old veggies you have on hand in here.

Topping:

2 large rutabagas, chopped into 1 inch pieces

2 tbs butter

1/4 cup fat free half & half

Salt to taste

Filling:

2 tbs olive oil

1/2 cup onions, chopped

1 stalk celery, sliced

2 medium carrots, sliced

2 tbs fresh garlic, minced

1/2 cup mushrooms, quartered

1/2 cup cabbage

1/4 cup frozen peas

1 tbs rosemary

1 tbs Worcestershire Sauce

1/2 cup green lentils

1 cup of vegetable broth

  1. Boil the rutabaga until tender in enough water to cover them (about 20 minutes). Drain.
  2. Add butter and 1/2 and 1/2. Mash with a potato masher, or hand held blender, or whatever.
  3. Salt to taste. Set aside.
  4. Meanwhile, cook onions, celery, carrots, garlic, mushrooms and cabbage in olive oil until tender and cooked down a bit. Add peas, Worcestershire sauce, rosemary, lentils and broth. Cook until lentils are soft, about 20 minutes.
  5. Distribute vegetable mixture into individual oven-safe bowls, or a casserole dish. Top with mashed rutabaga.
  6. Bake in 425 degree oven until inside is bubbling and top is slightly browned, about 20 minutes.

Vegetarian Shepherd's Pie | How I Ate My Box.

Nice and toasty. Side note! It would be pretty easy, I think, to make this vegan. Just use soy milk, vegan butter, and/or silken tofu in the topping instead of the butter and 1/2 and 1/2. And watch out for the Worcestershire sauce. Sometimes it has anchovies in it! Weird!

Vegetarian Shepherd's Pie | How I Ate My Box.

2 responses to “Vegetarian Shepherd’s Pie

Leave a Reply

