Spicy Ramen and Veggie Stir Fry

Who the heck doesn’t love ramen? Right, right, I know, it’s terrible. There are plenty of reasons to be turned off by its salty, MSG-y slurpiness. Mmm. Artificial pork flavor. What do you think an artificial pig tastes like? Or looks like?

Spicy Ramen and Veggie Stir Fry | How I Ate My Box

Truthfully, I try to avoid anything with ingredients I can’t pronounce.  But there is a certain allure of a meal that cooks in 3 minutes. This is a different spin on ramen. It doesn’t use that little packet of seasoning. Just the noodles. Beautiful, luxurious flowing locks of noodles. Like a mermaid’s hair. And veggies! So there are significantly fewer ingredients that we can’t pronounce. And no artificial porks. I got to use some of my cabbage and carrots from my CSA share for this. At this point, I am just typing the words “CABBAGE!” and “HELP!” into the Google search field to find recipes. But for realz, if you happen to have a lot of cabbage on your hands, or in your fridge,  check out food52, because they seem to have some bangin’ cabbage recipes. Although this is not one of them.

Spicy Ramen and Veggie Stir Fry | How I Ate My Box

This recipe was my muse. I always associate muses with mermaids, so we’re keeping with the theme, here.

Spicy Ramen and Veggie Stir Fry | How I Ate My Box

Also, I have tagged this recipe as vegan. I am not vegan, so there may be some secret animal ingredients that I don’t know about, but I’m pretty sure that without that flavor packet, there is nothing in these noodles that came from a beast. This is what is in it:

1 packet of ramen noodles, soup-base packet discarded

1 tbs of Thai chile oil (if you don’t like spicy, use sesame oil, or another kind of oil)

1 tbs of minced fresh ginger

3 big cloves of garlic, minced

1 cup of finely shredded cabbage

1/2 cup of shredded carrots

1 cup of mushrooms, quartered

1 tbs sweet soy sauce (sometimes called dark soy sauce or kecap manis)

2 tbs of soy sauce

1/2 tbs of sesame oil

1 tbs rice wine vinegar

1 tbs chopped fresh parsley or cilantro

1 tbs thinly sliced green onion

  1. Cook the ramen according to packet instructions, omitting the flavor packet. Drain noodles.
  2. Meanwhile, saute the ginger and garlic in the chile oil (or other oil) in a large wok over medium heat for a few minutes.
  3. Add the cabbage, carrots, and mushrooms, and stir fry over high heat until cabbage is wilted and other veggies cook down a bit.
  4. Turn heat down to medium-low and add sweet soy sauce, soy sauce, sesame oil, and vinegar.
  5. Add cooked noodles to the wok, and toss with tongs until evenly combined.
  6. Garnish with green onion and cilantro or parsley.
Leave a Reply

