Potato and Turnip Massaman Curry with Shrimp.

A few weeks ago, we had dinner at Nicky’s Thai Kitchen in Pittsburgh. A-maz-ing. I had the Massaman Curry and it was so delicious that I immediately began searching through recipes with the hope that I could recreate it at home.

Potato and Turnip Massaman Curry with Shrimp | How I Ate My Box

This was yummy, but definitely no Nicky’s. I’m pretty sure “magic” is an ingredient in their food.

As much as I love curry, I’m really not a curry expert and I’m definitely not really sure what the difference is between all different curries. I used red curry paste in this recipe. So, maybe this is technically a red curry and not a massaman curry. Whatever. I like it all.

This is the recipe I used as a base. But I did a lot of things differently. First of all, I wanted to make it into a slow cooker dish. Because I’m LAZY! Also because I like eating delicious things for dinner AND having some time left over to like, hang out, or watch TV, or have a small dance party, or drink, or do something else that’s more fun than making dinner. Of all the ridiculous things.

I think the next time I make this, I might make it on the stove top. I think I like the way potatoes cook down when they are actually boiled, as opposed to slow cooking.

Potato and Turnip Massaman Curry with Shrimp | How I Ate My BoxPotato and Turnip Massaman Curry with Shrimp | How I Ate My Box

Also, I still have all these pretty red turnips to use up. So I added them.I’m sad that you can’t really see the purpleness of them in the curry. I also removed the chicken. And, and, and. Oh, never mind. Here is the recipe:

Serves 4

3 cups peeled, cubed potatoes
1 cup peeled, cubed turnips
3 tablespoons curry paste (As mentioned above, I used red, cuz that’s what I had!)
1 tbs minced ginger
3 tablespoons brown sugar
3 tablespoons fish sauce
3 tablespoons tamarind paste
1/3 cup peanut butter
1 (13.5 ounce) can coconut milk (I used lite!)
2 tbs Thai chili oil
Fresh or frozen shrimp
3 tablespoons fresh lime juice (zest and juice of 2 limes)
4 cups of cooked brown basmati rice (or any rice)
1/4 cup chopped peanuts
2 tbs chopped parsley (You should probably use cilantro, if you want to be authentic)

  1. Put the potatoes and turnips in the bottom of a slow cooker
  2. Whisk the curry, ginger, brown sugar, fish sauce, tamarind paste, PB, coconut milk and chili oil together in a large bowl.
  3. Add the sauce to the potatoes and turnips and cook on low for 6 hours.
  4. When the potatoes are done, cook the shrimp until no longer pink the middle. I tossed them into 450 degree oven for 10 minutes.
  5. Stir in the lime juice.
  6. Serve over 1 cup of rice and garnish with peanuts and parsley.

Potato and Turnip Massaman Curry with Shrimp | How I Ate My Box

8 responses to “Potato and Turnip Massaman Curry with Shrimp.

  1. Are those potatoes in the curry? That is amazing. I love the melding of American staples to other culture`s foods, and I think potato curry is the purest sense of culinary fusion there is!

    • I bet they would be awesome. Honestly, I bet they would be even better. I had a ton of potatoes and turnips to use up when I made this, but sweet potatoes are so good in curries. You’ll have to let me know if you try it!

Leave a Reply

