Ancho Chili Pulled Pork Tacos.

Can you imagine my elation when in my CSA box this week, I found several dried ancho chilis? I love these little surprises because it allows me to deviate from root-based meals. I have used a lot of different marinades for stuff, and I gotta say, this marinade has been one of my favorites.

Ancho Chili Pulled Pork | How I Ate My Box

For Marinade:

1 ancho chili

3 cloves of garlic, chopped

1 tbs olive oil

1 tbs dijon mustard

zest and juice of one lime

1 tbs of brown sugar

2 tsp cinnamon

For Tacos:

1/2 of a pork loin

Corn tortillas

Hot sauce

Radish and Carrot pickles (optional)

  1. Simmer the ancho chili and 1 cup of water in small lidded saucepan for about 10 minutes.
  2. Reserve the cooking liquid.
  3. Remove the stem and seeds from the chili. Puree the chili, the cooking liquid and all of the remaining marinade ingredients with an immersion blender. Put the pork loin and the marinade in a non-reactive container or a zip-top bag and marinate for at least 1 hour, or overnight.
  4. Cook the pork in a slow cooker on low for 8 hours.
  5. Warm the tortillas by cooking in a skillet for a minute or two on each side.
  6. Shred the pork and serve it in the warm tortillas with hot sauce. I topped with these pickles, since I had some left over!
2 responses to “Ancho Chili Pulled Pork Tacos.

  1. Pingback: Pork Chops with Bacon Celeriac Apple Stuffing | How I Ate My Box·

Leave a Reply

