Fresh Spring Rolls and Peanut Sauce.

Apparently it’s Vietnamese week at my house. I got the awesome idea from Bonnie to attempt homemade eggrolls. But alas, I could not find eggroll wrappers. But I did find springroll wrappers. And what is the difference between the two? The interwebs are very divided on that! These are made with rice paper and are not fried. Egg rolls are usually made with a wheat flour wrapper and fried. But apparently you can also fry spring rolls. Which might happen. We’ll see!

These were a lot easier to put together than I thought they’d be!  Definitely time consuming. But also definitely yummy!

Fresh Spring Rolls and Peanut Sauce | How I Ate My Box

The rolls have carrots, cabbage, basil, brown rice noodles, avocado and cucumber in them. I wish my pickles were done. I would have put them in there too! The cabbage and carrot came from my CSA.

Fresh Spring Rolls and Peanut Sauce | How I Ate My Box

This blog has a great photo tutorial on how to construct and roll spring rolls, if you’d like to give it a shot yourself. There are also a ton of videos on YouTube on how to roll them, if you need even more help.  (Like I did)

Fresh Spring Rolls and Peanut Sauce | How I Ate My Box

And I also made a lil peanut sauce to go with em!

Peanut Sauce

1 tbs rice wine vinegar

1 tbs chili garlic sauce

2 tbs peanut butter

1 clove of garlic, minced

1 tbs sweet soy sauce (different than regular soy sauce. Also called kecap manis)

  1. Mix it all together!

Hmm. I wonder if I can make pho out of my CSA box………

Fresh Spring Rolls and Peanut Sauce | How I Ate My Box

6 responses to “Fresh Spring Rolls and Peanut Sauce.

Leave a Reply

