Vietnamese Pickles

Not being a big radish person, I have had to find creative ways to prepare and eat these guys. I love banh mi, and have never ever considered trying to make it at home. Until NOW! Of course it wouldn’t be banh mi without those weird pickled carrots and radishes on it, right? Or am I just making things unnecessarily hard for myself? Either way!

Vietnamese Pickles | How I Ate My Box

Traditionally, these pickles are made from daikon radishes and carrots. I used the green meat radish that came in my CSA share. And of course, the carrot.

Vietnamese Pickles | How I Ate My Box

I followed this recipe.

Vietnamese Pickles | How I Ate My Box

And now they have to sit in my fridge for three days. Stay tuned to see what kind of sammich I slap them on!

P.S. Even the jar is from my CSA! The sweet peppers in tomato sauce that I used to make this lasagna came in this jar.

3 responses to “Vietnamese Pickles

  1. Pingback: Fresh Spring Rolls and Peanut Sauce. | How I Ate My Box·

  2. Pingback: Bánh mì. Sort of? | How I Ate My Box·

  3. Pingback: Ancho Chili Pulled Pork Tacos. | How I Ate My Box·

Leave a Reply

