Tomato and Cabbage Soup with Grilled Basil Cheese Sandwiches.

Cabbage soup number two!  FYI, this is still the cabbage from the last share. I haven’t even started on this week’s cabbage.  Wasn’t there some kind of fad diet, where you could only eat cabbage soup, but you could eat as much cabbage soup as you wanted? I think I am inadvertently on that diet. All kidding aside, this soup was really good. I think it is my favorite thing that I have made with the cabbage so far. One of the cans of diced tomato that I used was fire roasted, so it had a little spicy kick to it. Kapow!

Tomato and Cabbage Soup with Grilled Basil Cheese Sandwiches | How I Ate My Box

1 tbs of olive oil

1/2 onion, chopped

3 cloves of garlic, chopped

4 cups of vegetable broth

2 cans diced tomatoes

3 tbs tomato paste

1/4 cup Israeli couscous

6 cups of shredded cabbage

  1. Saute the garlic and onion in the olive oil until soft
  2. Add the broth, diced tomatoes, tomato paste. Bring to a boil
  3. Using an immersion blender, puree the mixture.
  4. Add the cabbage and Israeli couscous. Cook until the cabbage wilts and the couscous is tender, about 10 minutes.

Tomato and Cabbage Soup with Grilled Basil Cheese Sandwiches | How I Ate My Box

I made the sandwiches on multi-grain sourdough with the mozzarella cheese from my CSA share. I added a little torn basil because basil rocks!

6 responses to “Tomato and Cabbage Soup with Grilled Basil Cheese Sandwiches.

  1. That soup looks wonderful! I like tomato soup, but I generally always want something with more substance to it. I think the addition of the cabbage and couscous would be perfect!

    • I feel the same way! I honestly tend to think of regular tomato soup as more of a condiment. It’s what you dip your grilled cheese into. But this soup definitely held its own. Thanks for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

