Roasted Beet Pesto and Brown Rice Pasta

Do you know what all these beets are reminding me of? Doug Funny. What an amazing cartoon. They are always eating beets and rocking out to the Beets on that show. OooEeeOoo. Killer Tofu.

Roasted Beet Pesto and Brown Rice Pasta | How I Ate My Box

Anyway, I know that this picture looks a little like earthworms, but it was seriously yummy.  I’m a fool for basil. Yum.

This could easily be made vegan by omitting the parm.

Roasted Beet Pesto and Brown Rice Pasta | How I Ate My Box

1 regular beet, or 1/8 of a super umungous beet, roasted and peeled

2 large cloves of garlic

1/2 cup loosely packed basil leaves

1/8 cup pine nuts

A few tablespoons of grated parmesan cheese

2 tbs olive oil

brown rice pasta (or any kind of pasta, really!)

  1. Put everything except the pasta in a food processor and chop it up.
  2. Cook the pasta according to the package instructions
  3. Put a few tablespoons of the pesto on each serving of the pasta.

Roasted Beet Pesto and Brown Rice Pasta | How I Ate My Box

Leave a Reply

