Slow Cooker Chicken and Colcannon.

Two slow cooker dinners in one week? Can you tell I really didn’t feel like cooking this week? I have a feeling this trend may continue.

Colcannon is an Irish potato and cabbage casserole. Maybe you already knew that, but I had never ever heard of it, until someone named Jenna awesomely commented on this post, suggesting this as a way to use up some of my excess potatoes and cabbage.

Slow Cooker Chicken and Colcannon | How I Ate My Box

I think it usually has ham in it. This colcannon has chicken next to it. I also made it by throwing everything in the slow cooker. This was a bit of an experiment. I’m pretty sure this wouldn’t live up to an Irish person’s standards. Ha ha, I think it might be better to call this meal “colcannon inspired”.

Slow Cooker Chicken and Colcannon | How I Ate My Box

Also, I did a pretty shoddy job of measuring everything.  So what you have below is more of an “almost recipe”. This is what is in it, roughly:

1 large onion, chopped

1 head of garlic, cloves separated, peeled and smashed (that’s right, a whole head)

3 cups of shredded cabbage

6 chicken drumsticks

About 5 medium red skinned potatoes, quartered

1 tbs of rosemary

1/4 cup water

Salt and Pepper

  1. I put everything in the slow cooker. Cooked on low for 8 hours while I was at work.
  2. When I got home, I separated the potatoes, cabbage, chicken and onion.
  3. I mashed the potatoes with a little milk and nonfat greek yogurt. Then I stirred in the cabbage. Tada! Colcannon!
  4. I made a gravy out of the drippings and some cornstarch dissolved in cold water.
  5. I served the chicken and onions along side the potatoes with the gravy on top.
  6. Oh and I steamed a little broccolini to go with it. Gotta have some green in there.

After all that, I still have so much cabbage left! IT’S UNENDING!

Slow Cooker Chicken and Colcannon | How I Ate My Box

2 responses to “Slow Cooker Chicken and Colcannon.

Leave a Reply

