Slow Cooker Squash Lasagna

I like making lasagna in the slow cooker. It’s the lazy girl’s lasagna. You don’t  have to par-boil the noodles first. I didn’t roast the squash ahead of time. But, if I did this again, I would definitely add ricotta. I didn’t have any, and could not be moved to venture out to the grocery store. Like I said, laaaazy. The only trade off to making the lasagna in the crock pot, of course, is that you don’t get that burnt, bubbly cheese topping, which I do admittedly love. And its always more of a free-form lasagna. Don’t expect those noodles to stay in neat little layers when you make it this way.

Slow Cooker Squash Lasagna | | How I Ate My Box

Of course you can use any tomato sauce. I used this cool green pepper tomato sauce that came in my CSA box. This might seem like a lot of sauce, but the noodles cook in the sauce instead of in water. So you have to add a lot of sauce to keep everything from drying out.

Slow Cooker Squash Lasagna | | How I Ate My Box

This will make about 6 servings of lasagna.

2 jars of tomato sauce

1/2 8 oz package of whole wheat lasagna noodles

12 oz  mozz, thinly sliced or shredded

2 cups of winter squash, peeled, seeded and very thinly sliced

1/2 cup of water

  1. Coat the bottom of the slow cooker with a think layer of sauce.
  2. Add a layer of noodles, then a layer of mozzarella, then a layer of squash.
  3. Repeat until you have used up all your ingredients, except 4 oz of mozz. To keep things from drying out, make sure you end with sauce on top.
  4. Add the water to the slow cooker.
  5. Cook on low for 5 hours.
  6. Switch to high and sprinkle the top with the remaining 4 oz of shredded mozzarella. Put the lid on and let it melt, about 5-10 minutes.

See? Free-form.

Slow Cooker Squash Lasagna | | How I Ate My Box

*I did all the prep the night before, and put the slow cooker in the refrigerator. Then the next day, I just turned that baby on.

One response to “Slow Cooker Squash Lasagna

  1. Pingback: Vietnamese Pickles | How I Ate My Box·

Leave a Reply

