Grilled Swiss Cheese and Sweet Pepper Relish on Beet Bread

Bears. Beets. Battlestar Galactica.

Remember beet bread? Well if you don’t, that’s what that link is there for.

Grilled Swiss Cheese and Sweet Pepper Relish on Beet Bread | How I Ate My Box

For dinner tonight, I decided to get incredibly wild and creative and put cheese on the beet bread. Who on earth would have thought of that? I even heated it up on a grill till the cheese got melty. Hmm, maybe I’ll call this invention “grilled cheese”? What do you think?

Grilled Swiss Cheese and Sweet Pepper Relish on Beet Bread | How I Ate My Box

I used one of the swiss cheeses that I got in this week’s CSA.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I also put some of this on the sammies. I actually almost forgot about this stuff. This is sweet pepper relish and it came in my CSA box a few shares ago. It’s pretty awesome. Sweet AND spicy. It made these sandwiches extra special. Look at all my crumbs. I love sandwiches.

Grilled Swiss Cheese and Sweet Pepper Relish on Beet Bread | How I Ate My Box

This is the first time I actually tried the beet bread. It’s pretty good. It’s a denser bread and it has a nice, savory flavor. You can’t really taste the beets at all. So I guess adding them is just for color, novelty and getting some trace beet-related nutrients. All of which is cool in my book.

8 responses to “Grilled Swiss Cheese and Sweet Pepper Relish on Beet Bread

  1. I love grilled cheese sandwiches–yours sounds so delicious! The beet bread intrigues me and I’m going to go check the post out . . . .

    Ok, I’m back! Your beet bread dough looks similar to the beet pizza dough in my fridge! I was wondering if it would stay so shockingly pink or if the color would mellow with baking. The beet muffins I did stayed light pink on the outside and more of an orangey color on the inside.

    Lucky you to get such variety in your CSA!

    • Beet pizza dough! That sounds so cool! The bread stayed rather red on the outside. Although it did turn more of subtle orangey color inside when I baked it. Not sure if you can tell from the pics! Thanks for the comments!

  2. Pingback: What’s in the Box? #58 | In Her Chucks·

Leave a Reply

