Poached Salmon and Shaved Root Veg Salad

Today I shaved my box.

Poached Salmon and Shaved Root Veg Salad | How I Ate My Box

UGH. I’m so sorry about that.

I was pretty happy with this. I was super nervous about eating all these rooties raw. But it was good! Peppery and crunchy. I think you definitely need a good dressing to pull it off, though. Fortunately, my dressing rocked. I’m not trying to be arrogant. But it was a pretty awesome orangey mustardy vinaigrette. If the raw roots are too much for you, at least give the dressing a try sometime. If you want to.

Poached Salmon and Shaved Root Veg Salad | How I Ate My Box

Once again, this meal was made possible by my mandolin slicer (and viewers like YOU!). It made quick work of these tubers. You’ve met watermelon radish before. So today, I would like to introduce you to red turnip. Kinda pretty, eh?

Poached Salmon and Shaved Root Veg Salad | How I Ate My Box

Shaved Root Veg Salad

1 watermelon radish, sliced thin

1 red  turnip, sliced thin

1 normal beet, or in my case, 1/8 of a monster beet, sliced thin

1 large carrot, sliced thin

1/8 cup of sliced almonds

1/8 cup of fresh mozzarella, cut into little cubes.

chopped fresh parsley

  1. Mix it all together.

Dressing

2 tbs orange juice

1 tbs whole grain mustard

1 tbs red wine vinegar

1 tbs lemon juice

1 tbs olive oil

  1. Mix it all together

Poached Salmon

Poaching the salmon is also super easy. Just put it in a large saute pan and put about a half inch of water in there. You can add all kinds of fun stuff to the poaching liquid like lemon slices, herbs, white wine, etc. But I just used water today. Bring it to a simmer and put a lid on it. The salmon is done when it flakes easily with a fork. Maybe 5 – 10 minutes or so, depending on the thickness of the fillet and your personal preference. You definitely don’t want to overcook it, though.

Leave a Reply

