Cheesetastic Potato Soup and Hummus Sammies.

It’s not too cheesy. Just cheesy enough. You know how sometimes you eat a cheesy soup and then you kind of wish you hadn’t while you can feel it coagulating in your stomach? This soup won’t do that to you. I promise! This is a no-regrets kind of cheesy potato soup.

I also do not regret that this used up a good amount of the potato surplus that I have right now. I would have been a blessing to Ireland between the years of 1845 and 1852. Is that a bad joke? I’m not trying to be insensitive. I just have a lot of potatoes.

Cheesetastic Potato Soup and Hummus Sammies | How I Ate My Box

I did a pretty bad job of measuring stuff tonight. CAUTION: All amounts are approximations.

Cheesetastic Potato Soup and Hummus Sammies | How I Ate My Box

Ha ha, I used about this many potatoes. Also note the rust on my colander. Excuse me, would you like a side of tetanus with your meal? Please don’t come over for dinner unless you’ve had  your shots.

Cheesetastic Potato Soup and Hummus Sammies | How I Ate My Box

Also, sorry for the dark photos. I swear I wasn’t making this soup in a dungeon. Although, that also sounds like a great place to get tetanus.

Cheesetastic Potato Soup

(Makes 4-6 servings)

Olive Oil

2 celery stalks, sliced

1/2 of a large onion, chopped

3ish cups of potatoes, chopped into 1-2 inch pieces

4 cups vegetable stock (Once again, I like this stuff)

1 tbs dried rosemary

8 ounces of shredded good-melting cheese (I used the cheddar and the asiago that came in the CSA)

  1. Saute the celery and onion in the olive oil until they are soft.
  2. Add the potato and broth, bring to a boil.
  3. Cook the soup until the potatoes are soft, about 20-30 minutes.
  4. Puree the soup with an immersion blender.
  5. Add the cheese in small increments, allowing to melt between each addition.
  6. Stir in the rosemary.

I served it up with some hummus sammies. Pretty simple. Just hummus and veggies on toasted sourdough bread. Here is the recipe for the hummus.

Hummus

(This makes about 1.5 cups of hummus)

1 can of chickpeas, drained and rinsed

1 big fat clove of garlic

1 tbs olive oil

1/2 tbs cumin

A few tablespoons of water or the liquid from the chickpea can

  1. Chop up the garlic in a food processor. Then add everything else and give it a good whir!
  2. Add liquid as necessary.

*I usually add a few tablespoons of tahini, as well, but I was out of it. Feel free to add.

2 responses to “Cheesetastic Potato Soup and Hummus Sammies.

Leave a Reply

