Winter Salad with Lentils and Radishes.

Upholding my promise to make healthier dishes with this winter produce, I made up this salad.

Winter Salad with Lentils and Radishes | How I Ate My Box

It helped a lot that I just got an awesome new toy in the mail.

A mandolin slicer!!!!!! Ooooo watermelon radish!! Look how pretty. Pretty obvious why they call it a watermelon radish, I guess.

Winter Salad with Lentils and Radishes | How I Ate My Box

I arranged the slices into an “S”. Because my name starts with an “S”. And simple things make me giggle.

As I’m sure you know, you can get all kinds of awesome things on amazon.com!

As I think I have mentioned before, I friggin’ love lentils. I don’t discriminate, I love all lentils. But green or brown ones work best here. They keep it together when cooked. Red ones tend to fall apart.

The peppiness of the arugula and the radish, combined with the sweetness of the orange and the brininess of the olives made this pretty interesting and tasty. And I’m certainly not a dietician, but this salad is proteiny, full of some good fat and fiber, and pretty low cal. So that means you can eat a lot more of it! If you were so inclined. Happy winter!

Salad

1 cup of arugula (Or some other green. Your choice)

A handful of grape tomatoes

1/2 cup cooked green lentils

2-3 tbs of pepitas

1/2 watermelon radish, sliced really thin

1 hard-boiled egg, sliced

1 clementine, separated into sections (peel zested for dressing!)

4 or so kalamata olives

Orange Balsamic Vinaigrette Dressing

1 tbs balsamic vinegar

1/2 tbs olive oil

1 tbs orange juice

zest from clementine peel

  1. Pretty straight forward. Combine all the salady ingredients.
  2. Whisk all the vinaigrette ingredients together.
  3. Put the dressing on the salad!
  4. Put it in your mouth, ding dong!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

3 responses to “Winter Salad with Lentils and Radishes.

  1. Pingback: Poached Salmon and Shaved Root Veg Salad | How I Ate My Box·

Leave a Reply

