Purple Potato Pizza

Not sure if I have mentioned this conundrum before, but it’s something that’s bugging me a little about all the box-eating. So I am getting a good portion of my food straight from a farm. And its all organic. And for the most part its all produce. Yet, I feel like I am eating less healthy than I was before.

Purple Potato Pizza | How I Ate My Box

So, I tend to eat REALLY healthy. Lots of salads and soups and fresh, raw or steamed veg, whole grains, lean protein, you get the idea. But that’s kind of hard to do with all this winter produce. Because most of it you don’t really want to eat raw. Mmm. Raw potatoes… pasty.

Purple Potato Pizza | How I Ate My Box

Also winter veg tends to be pretty starchy. Which is something I usually shy away from. Honestly, I usually eat potatoes very rarely.

And it all tends to go SO WELL WITH CHEESE! Heh he he…

So I think that might be my goal moving forward. Watch out for some majorly health-a-rific winter food! And don’t worry, I will work in some splurges here and there! Not that you were worried at all about what I was going to eat and/or blog about.

Purple Potato Pizza | How I Ate My Box

But anyway! Today we had pizza! And as far as pizza goes, this is pretty reasonable health-wise. For a pizza. And no, that is not an artsy effect in the bottom right of all of my photos. It’s a fingerprint on my camera lens. Doh!

Purple Potato Pizza | How I Ate My Box

1 wad of pizza dough. I used Trader Joe’s whole wheat

1/2 cup of part skim ricotta

1 big clove of garlic, minced

1/2 tbs olive oil

3 tbs fresh basil, divided, minced

1 cup of potatoes, sliced very thin

Grated asiago cheese

Salt and fresh ground pepper

  1. Preheat yer oven according to your pizza dough directions. Mine was 425.
  2. Roll out your pizza dough on a pizza stone, or whatever pizza baking apparatus you are using.
  3. Combine the ricotta, garlic, olive oil and 1 tbs of the basil.
  4. Spread the ricotta mixture on the pizza dough.
  5. Cover the ricotta layer with the potato slices
  6. Sprinkle the rest of the basil and the asiago on top.
  7. Bake according to your pizza dough directions. Mine took about 8 minutes. It’s done when the asiago is brown and bubbly.
  8. Salt and pepper to taste.

Umm, I bet this would be awesome with thyme or something instead of basil, as well! GO WILD!

Purple Potato Pizza

Leave a Reply

