Pasta with Sausage and Kale and Beet Soup.

Sausage isn’t something that happens in my house a lot. But when it does happen, it involves that weird Dos Equis guy. No no no, just kidding. I would never hang out with that guy. OR his sausage.

Pasta with Sausage and Kale and Beet Soup | How I Ate My Box

I’m just not really a sausage person. And honestly, we eat a lot of vegetarian and seafood meals. However, this sausage is special. I happen to know someone who makes really awesome sausage from scratch. Man is it good. This sausage also happens to be pretty spicy, but you could use mild, if that’s more your speed.

This is probably the only recipe I ever make with sausage, and its pretty darn good. My fabulous friend Annie first introduced it to me, once when she came to visit me, and it always makes me think of her! I don’t know if she really wants to be associated with a sausage dish, because she is primarily a vegetarian, but its a pretty good sausage dish to be associated with! (Side note: Annie is NOT the friend that makes sausage. That is a different friend.  It may be hard to believe that I have more than one, I know.)

I didn’t have fettuccine, so I used rotini, and whenever I can, I always use whole wheat pasta. This was a nice use of the kale in my CSA share. I used up about half of it.

Pasta with Sausage and Kale and Beet Soup | How I Ate My Box

Remember my good friend, Huge Beet? Well I obviously have to get crackin’ on Huge Beet if I want to use it up before I get my next share.

Pasta with Sausage and Kale and Beet Soup | How I Ate My Box

So I made some Beet Soup to go along with the pasta. I think this soup was a medium-success, although, if I did it again, I feel like it needs something else. Maybe a distinctive herb like rosemary or thyme. Not sure.

Beet Soup

1 teaspoon olive oil
1 cup chopped onion
4 cups veggie broth, stock, boullion, whatever
1/4 of a huge beet, peeled and cut into small pieces (or 3 medium beets, peeled and halved)
1 medium potato, peeled and halved
1 tbs lemon juice
Reduced fat sour cream for serving

  1. Heat the oil in a large pot or dutch oven over medium-high heat.
  2. Add onion; sauté 3 minutes or until tender.
  3. Add broth, beets and potato.
  4. Bring to a boil; reduce heat, and simmer, uncovered, 20 minutes or until beets and potato are tender.
  5. Remove from heat and puree mixture with an immersion blender.
  6. Add lemon juice and stir.
  7. Top each serving with desired amount of sour cream. For me, that just so happens to be a whole container.
2 responses to “Pasta with Sausage and Kale and Beet Soup.

Leave a Reply

