Fish Tacos with Cabbage and Green Turnip Slaw

This dinner came together really quickly. A big part of that was because I made the slaw ahead of time. This is the recipe that inspired me.

Fish Tacos with Cabbage and Green Turnip Slaw | How I Ate My Box

Let me be frank. The fish tacos, although awesome, are merely a vehicle for the slaw. Not because I love slaw,  but because I needed to use these radishes. I honestly don’t usually like slaw. Or the word “slaw”. Actually, I liked this slaw. Maybe because it was so fresh and made from such stellar ingredients!

I still don’t like the word “slaw”.

These are green meat radishes. Look at them. Aren’t they weird? They are a Chinese winter radish and supposedly pretty similar to daikon radishes.

Fish Tacos with Cabbage and Green Turnip Slaw | How I Ate My Box

Once I peeled them, they were even more green. And look at those crazy wild veins in them. These are NOTHING like the radishes of my childhood. Well, there really were no radishes in my childhood. Except the ones on Fraggle Rock.

Fish Tacos with Cabbage and Green Turnip Slaw | How I Ate My Box

Green Meat Radish Slaw

This makes about 2 cups of slaw, which is WAY more than you need for the tacos. Hope you like having extra slaw!

2 green meat radishes (Sigh. I guess you could use another kind of radish)

1 medium carrots

2 big leaves of savoy cabbage

3 tbs light mayo

3 tbs red wine vinegar

1 tbs chili garlic sauce (like Sriracha)

  1. I used my food processor with the shredder attachment to shred the carrots and the radish. The cabbage, I just sliced thinly by hand.
  2. Mix the mayo, vinegar, and chili garlic sauce together
  3. Stir the vinegar mixture into the shredded vegetables.
  4. Slawesome.

Fish Tacos with Cabbage and Green Turnip Slaw | How I Ate My BoxFish Tacos with Cabbage and Green Turnip Slaw | How I Ate My Box

Fish Tacos

2 filet of firm white fish (I used swai, but tilapia, mahi mahi, etc would work too!)

1 garlic clove, minced

1/2 teaspoon ground cumin

1/2 teaspoon chili powder

1 tablespoons olive oil

Juice of 2 limes

4 to 6 soft (6-inch) corn tortillas

Freshly ground black pepper

Cabbage and green turnip slaw

Sliced avocado

Hot sauce

  1. Mix the garlic, cumin, and chili powder together.
  2. Add the olive oil and the lime juice to the spice mixture and stir until evenly combined to make the marinade.
  3. Cover the fish with the marinated in a container or a plastic bag and allow to rest for 15 minutes (refrigerated)
  4. Grill the fish using your preferred method until white and flaky. (cooking times and temps will vary depending on what type of fish you use) When the fish is done, add fresh pepper to taste.
  5. Meanwhile, grill tortillas by heating a medium frying pan over medium-high heat. Add 1 tortilla at a time, flipping to warm both sides, about 5 minutes total. Wrap the warm tortillas in a clean dishcloth or paper towels and set aside.
  6. To construct a taco, break up some of the cooked fish, place it in a warm tortilla, and top it with slaw, sliced avocado and hot sauce.

Upon reflection, I’m a little bit sad that I didn’t mix the hot sauce with some light sour cream or greek yogurt to make a spicy creamy sauce. That would have been awesome. Maybe you should try that?

Fish Tacos with Cabbage and Green Turnip Slaw | How I Ate My Box

5 responses to “Fish Tacos with Cabbage and Green Turnip Slaw

    • I apologize for the partial extra line above. I couldn’t see it while I was typing, and don’t know how to change it once it is gone to be moderated. 😦

      • No worries! And thanks so much for the link to my blog! I can’t wait to check out more of your recipes, as well.

        It’s weird how if your comment is too long, you can’t read the bottom. That’s happened to me too! If the partial line bugs, you, I can always remove the comment, but it doesnt bother me! Just let me know. 🙂

Leave a Reply

