Lentil and Cabbage Soup

It’s freaking cold out.  Soup time!  Kinda like Hammer Time, but with different pants. Better pants.

Lentil and Cabbage Soup

This soup was a desperate attempt to (a) get warm, and (b) use up some of that monstrous amount of cabbage in my fridge. And it did both of those things to varying degrees (I’m rather toasty, but the head of cabbage still weighs about 20 lb). And also, the soup turned out really delicious. Exceeded my expectations, even.  I love a good lentil soup, though, so I may be biased. What’s not to love about these little legumes? They are super high in fiber, folate and magnesium. They are filling and tasty.

Lentil and Cabbage Soup

Mmm. Cabbagy.

1 tbs olive oil

1/2 large onion, diced

2 carrots, cut into thin coins

2 celery stalks, thinly sliced

2 cloves of garlic, finely chopped

3 large leaves of cabbage, sliced very thin (about 1 cup)

1 cup of dry green lentils

1 can chickpeas

8 cups of vegetable broth

1 small can of tomato paste

1 tbs smoked paprika

1/4 cup of red wine vinegar

sour cream for garnish (optional)

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

  1. In a very large pot, saute onion, carrots and celery in olive oil until soft, perhaps maybe about 5 minutes.
  2. Add the garlic, cook another  minute or so.
  3. Add the cabbage and cook until its wilted down a bit.
  4. Add the lentils, chickpeas, broth, tomato paste and paprika.
  5. Bring to a simmer. Cook until lentils are tender, 30 – 40 minutes.
  6. Just before serving, stir in the red wine vinegar.
  7. Transfer about 2 cups of the soup to another container. Puree with an immersion blender. Return to pot. (This is totally optional, but it gives the soup more of a stew-y consistency)
  8. Garnish with a little dollop of sour cream, if you so choose.

I served this with little grilled cheeses on multigrain sourdough bread, but you can serve it with anything you want. I used the asiago cheese from the CSA share. Oh so tasty.

Lentil and Cabbage Soup

10 responses to “Lentil and Cabbage Soup

  1. I am totally trying something similar to this! 🙂 Great idea! 🙂

    I am leaving for a trip soon, so I’m cleaning out my fridge. I had cabbage leftover from when I made egg rolls on New Years (mmmm!) so I think I’ll make a soup like this with it! BUT I’m going to have to reduce the recipe. That’s ok! 🙂

    Bonnie

  2. Pingback: Lentil and Cabbage Soup | Recipes Happen·

Leave a Reply

