Roasted Red Pepper & Goat Cheese Pappardelle

I didn’t realize this, but the word “pappardelle” is derived from the verb “pappare”, which means “to gobble up”. Which is appropriate, because I ate this in about 30 seconds. You could obviously use any kind of pasta. But I love the way papardelle is so big and fat.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The only thing from my CSA that I used in this dish is the goat cheese. But in my opinion, it was a pretty good use of the goat cheese.

1 big clove of garlic, chopped

1 tbs olive oil

1/2 cup roasted red peppers (I just used the jar kind, but you can make your own if you are ambitious)

4 oz goat cheese

1 tbs chopped fresh basil

1 tbs fresh grated parmesan cheese.

1 package of pappardelle pasta

  1. Bring a largish pot of water to a boil. Add the pasta and cook according to package, drain and return to pot.
  2. Meanwhile, saute the garlic in the olive oil in a large skillet.
  3. Add the goat cheese and roasted red peppers to the skillet and cook on medium-low until the cheese is melted and the peppers are hot.
  4. Use an immersion blender to puree the pepper mixture.
  5. Add the pepper and goat cheese mixture to the pasta and toss to coat.
  6. Garnish with chopped basil and parmesan cheese.

Roasted Red Pepper and Goat Cheese Pappardelle

I served it with a simple little arugula salad. I had all these leftover pomegranate seeds from the salad I made a few days ago. Good stuff!

If you’ll recall, I had lots of cheese leftover from the last CSA share I received, and then received THREE NEW CHEESES in this week’s share. I knew I could never eat all that cheese alone, so I did one better and shared it with some friends while watching the ball drop. Happy New Year!

cheeseplate

3 responses to “Roasted Red Pepper & Goat Cheese Pappardelle

Leave a Reply

