Roasted Winter Squash Soup

I fear that I may be running out of things to do with squash. Soup to the rescue! This was a great, steamy lunch today, especially because of all the snow that keeps falling, and all the shoveling that keeps happening. (Ahem, my husband gets to do the shoveling, and I reward him with squash soup… not sure that’s a fair trade-off. Hopefully he still likes me.)

Roasted Winter Squash Soup

This is the recipe that I used as a foundation for this soup.  I did some things differently. My squash was already roasted. And it was sweet dumpling squash, not butternut. So, I sauteed 1 cup of chopped onions, 2 tbs of diced garlic and a half-cup of chopped carrots in 1 tbs of olive oil until all that was soft. Then I added the roasted squash (about 2 cups) and 4 cups of vegetable broth, and brought it all to a simmer. After the soup simmered for some minutes, I pureed the whole thing with an immersion blender.

Roasted Winter Squash Soup

Meanwhile, I fried little pieces of basil in olive oil to garnish the soup with.  Cute, eh? They really didn’t add any flavor, so “cute” was their only function. Sorry about the blurry photo. Apparently they were so cute, I couldn’t hold my camera steady.

Roasted Winter Squash Soup

I served it all with some garlic toast!

2 responses to “Roasted Winter Squash Soup

  1. Pingback: Pan Roasted Filet Mignon, Mashed Rutabagas and Potatoes, and Some Cabbagy Quinoa. | How I Ate My Box·

Leave a Reply

