Three Bean and Root Veggie Chili.

Chili is one of my favorite go-to dinners. It’s low maintenance, delicious and healthy. I pretty much always make it vegetarian. Not sure why, but I prefer it that way. I know I am in the minority. Everyone wants bacon or beef or sausage in chili. Eh. Not me. This recipe is pretty old. I’ve been making it for years. In fact, I have it hand-written in one of those old fashioned “books”.

Three Bean and Root Veggie Chili.

This is a variation of that recipe, with the inclusion of the remaining roasted root veggies from last week’s share. I’ll give you the recipe even though I’m pretty sure most people have their own recipe for chili.

1 tbs olive oil

1 onion, chopped

1 jalapeno, diced

3 cloves of garlic, diced

2 tbs chili powder

1 tsp cumin

2 bay leaves (I have no idea why I use bay leaves. I’m convinced they make no difference whatsoever.)

2 tsp oregano

2 tsp smoked paprika

1 can corn

3 cans different beans (garbanzo, kidney, black beans, etc)

2 cans of diced tomato

1 little can of tomato paste

2 cups of roasted root vegetables. (mine contained winter squash, potatoes, sunchokes, black radishes)

2 cups of water or broth

Your favorite hot sauce, to taste

Salt, to taste.

2 tbs chopped fresh parsley

  1. Saute the onion and jalapeno in the olive oil until soft, then add the garlic and saute for a few more minutes.
  2. Add all the spices and cook until fragrant.
  3. Add all the cans of stuff, root veggies and water or broth. Mix it up and let it simmer for about 30 minutes. Or however long. It doesn’t really matter. Just make sure it’s hot.
  4. Then add the hot sauce to your preferred level of heat and the salt.
  5. Oh, and discard those stupid bay leaves.
  6. Sometimes I puree a few cups of it and add it back in to make it thicker.
  7. Top it with the parsley!

Three Bean and Root Veggie Chili.

I topped it with some avocado, and a little grated colby cheese. Which is also from the CSA. The cheese is. Not the avocado. What?! Avocado isn’t in season in December in Western PA????? NOOO WAYYYY!!! Sour cream or plain yogurt is a good topping too.

2 responses to “Three Bean and Root Veggie Chili.

  1. Pingback: Three Bean Chili + Cornbread | My Weblog·

Leave a Reply

