Drunken Cheese Sandwiches.

Beer and Cheese. BFFs.

This delicious little gem was inspired by this recipe. No no no; Once again, “inspired” isn’t really the right word. Inspiration connotes some sort of creativity and I just straight up stoled it. And I am glad I did. It’s a sandwich which features onions sauteed in beer until they are caramelized and fabulous. And then blanketed by some luscious hot pepper colby.

Drunken Cheese Sandwiches.

The only thing you need to know is that I used sourdough bread. And Bass ale. Because it was the beer in my fridge that I was the least excited about drinking. Not terrible, but not one of my faves. So I thought I’d put it to good use.  Oh, also, I used the entire bottle of beer instead of just a 1/4 cup. Of course I just drank the remaining 3/4 of it, but I thought you’d like to know none the less.

Drunken Cheese Sandwiches.

I also skipped that whole messy bread-buttering part and just made them on the GEORGE FOREMAN! Interesting how that little brandnomer has slipped into our colloquial. Anyway, this was a great use of the onions in my CSA and also the colby cheese with hot peppers. Which apparently came from Milk Way Meadows farm, about 90 miles north of Pittsburgh.  Cool, eh?

Drunken Cheese Sandwiches.

One response to “Drunken Cheese Sandwiches.

Leave a Reply

