Potato Turnip Latkes.

I love frying things in huge vats of oil, don’t you?

I found this wonderful recipe on Chow and thought, “Hey! That would be a great use of my potato, turnip AND onion!!” I followed it pretty closely, except for a few things. First of all, I used a food processor to grate the veggies, and I highly recommend you do the same. There is no reason in the whole world that you should do that with a box grater. Unless you are just a glutton for punishment, and you love, love, love the feeling of tears streaming down your cheeks as you shred onion.

Also, it is VERY VERY important to squeeze as much of that moisture out of the potato mixture as possible before mixing in the egg mixture. I have been told that this is the secret to good latkes.

Potato Turnip Latkes

Secondly, I did NOT fry them in duck fat. In fact, I don’t even own a duck. I used vegetable oil. Honestly, frying them in duck fat just seems ludicrous to me.

Potato Turnip Latkes

They were really yummy. I served them with a salad, to try to health it on up, a bit.

Potato Turnip Latkes

Traditionally latkes are served with either sour cream or apple sauce. So I went with the applesauce theme and made a lil apple butter vinaigrette for the salad. I will give you that recipe, but honestly I didn’t like it. Truth. I thought it was too sweet, but my husband loved it. So maybe you will like it. To each his own. Or her own. Here ya go.

Apple Butter Vinaigrette

3 tbs apple butter

2 tbs apple cider vinegar

1 tbs balsamic vinegar

1/2 tbs whole grain mustard

  1. Just whisk all that stuff together. Done. Oh, did I mention that this dressing is fat free? That might be why I didn’t like it.

Potato Turnip Latkes

One response to “Potato Turnip Latkes.

Leave a Reply

