Macaroni with Sunchoke and Mustard Greens.

If you will remember from this post, the sunchokes can supposedly cause some gas. In fact, the Wikipedia page about them went so far as to provide a quote on the matter.

“which way soever they be dressed and eaten, they stir and cause a filthy loathsome stinking wind within the body, thereby causing the belly to be pained and tormented, and are a meat more fit for swine than men.”

Thanks for that imagery, John Goodyer. On that note, Mmm, I think I’ll have some… Really?

Macaroni with Sunchoke and Mustard Greens.

I was pretty apprehensive about this filthy loathsome stinking wind. I almost didn’t want to try them. I was so nervous, that I think I gave myself gas just worrying about it. But I did it. I ate them. And so far, my wind is under control. They do indeed taste a lot like potatoes. Only a little sweeter.

The mustard greens are pretty spicy raw (much like mustard – GASP!) but after they were cooked, they were much more mild.

Macaroni probably wouldn’t have been my first choice for the pasta, especially not white pasta, but it was just what was lying around. It turned out pretty well,  all in all.

Macaroni with Sunchoke and Mustard Greens.

This recipe used the sunchokes, the mustard greens, and the garlic from my CSA.

olive oil

1 cup of sunchokes, sliced real thin

2 cups of thinly sliced mustard greens

2 tbs minced garlic

2 cups (dry) macaroni or other pasta

grated Parmesan cheese

salt and pepper to taste

  1. Put a medium pot of water on to boil for the pasta. When it comes to a boil, add the pasta and cook according to directions. Then drain it. Duh.
  2. Meanwhile, I just sauteed the sunchokes and garlic in about 1 tbs of olive oil over medium heat until they were pretty soft and getting some good brown color on them. Maybe 10 minutes. I thought cooking them real good might sweat the farts out of them.
  3. I added the sunchoke mixture to the drained pasta, and then sauteed the mustard greens as well. Just until they were wilty. Then I added the greens to the pasta, as well.
  4. I added about 2 tbs of grated parm and tossed this all together with some sea salt and fresh ground pepper.
2 responses to “Macaroni with Sunchoke and Mustard Greens.

  1. Pingback: A BRAND NEW BOX! HOORAY! | How I Ate My Box·

Leave a Reply

