Winter Squash, Arugula and Goat Cheese Pizza.

Oh how exciting! The very first CSA dinner! It was a good one. This pizza used the squash and the goat cheese from my CSA. Everything else was purchased in a plain ol’ store. The squash is a mixture of celebration and green kabocha. The goat cheese is a french herb chevre, which I am told, came from River View Dairy.

Winter Squash, Arugula and Goat Cheese Pizza.

1 ball pizza dough (I used Trader Joe’s whole wheat)(Obviously, you could make your own pizza dough. If you do, may I recommend this one? It’s amazingly delicious and super easy)

flour for de-sticking pizza dough

1/2 cup of tomato sauce

1 cup mixed roasted squash (I used celebration and green kobacha)

5 oz (ish) soft goat cheese

1-2 cups arugula (depending on how much green you like on your pizza)

2 tbs olive oil

2tbs balsamic vinegar

  1. Preheat your oven! (Read the directions on your dough)
  2. Roll out the pizza dough, using PLENTY OF FLOUR. Nothing is more frustrating than a pizza that sticks to stuff. I used a pizza peel and a pizza stone. But I’m sure a round pizza pan would be just as good.
  3. Smear the top of that pizza with the tomato sauce, and then with the goat cheese. Since goat cheese is soft, you really do kind of have to smear it in with the sauce.
  4. Bake the pizza according to the directions on the dough. Mine was 425 degrees for 8 minutes.
  5. Meanwhile, toss the arugula with the olive oil and vinegar. When the pizza is done baking, spread the arugula mixture on top.
  6. TADA!

Winter Squash, Arugula and Goat Cheese Pizza.

I got the inspiration from this recipe. Obviously I didn’t use beets but used squash instead.  Oh, and my pizza has tomato sauce on it. Cuz I’m SAUCY!!

PS. I ate this with a side of ramen. Not sure why! I just really wanted some! Now that’s definitely not good for the environment, your body, or anything else. But hey, no one is perfect. I did add peanutbutter, siracha, and soy sauce to my ramen. Just like Martha Stewart. This made me feel more grown-up about it. Dignified and stuff.

Leave a Reply

