The Roots Get Roasted.

I’ve done some preliminary research into what type of dishes I might transform these vegetables into, and most of the recipes I have read  have called for roasted vegetables. So, to make my life a little easier, I just decided to roast a whole bunch of them ahead of time. Not all of them. Probaby half. I chopped them up into similarly-sized pieces, minced several cloves of the garlic from the CSA, and tossed it all with some olive oil before chucking it in a 400 degree oven. For about 40 minutes.

The Roots Get Roasted.

Here’s a close-up of that sunchoke. Gross. Supposedly this guy tastes like a potato, but sweeter. And gives you terrible gas. I can’t wait to try it. Personally, I think it bears a resemblance to that weird sentient space ship from the Star Trek TNG episode, Tin Man. Nah, you’re right. Tin Man looks more like a yam.

The Roots Get Roasted.

This is the green kobacha sqash. Also known as a Japanese Pumpkin. It looks pretty standardly squashy.

The Roots Get Roasted.

And who knew. Black radishes are white inside. Just like regular radishes. Hmm. Also, I read that next to horseradish, these black radishes are the spiciest of all radishes.

The Roots Get Roasted.

Here is the kobacha and celebration squash all oiled up and on hanging out on a sheet. Technically, you aren’t supposed to crowd veggies on a pan when you are roasting them. I guess I just didn’t really give a shit.

Anyway, I just roasted these little veggie chunks for about 40 minutes and then just let them cool and refrigerated them. Pretty exciting, eh?

Leave a Reply

